Furman University home page
Loading...
FYW: Shakespeare in His Contexts: Reference Sources
Concordance of Shakespeare's Complete Works
-
Credo ReferenceProvides access to more than 1300 titles, covering every major subject - from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature.
-
Gale EbooksGale eBooks is a Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
-
Oxford Reference OnlineIndexes the full text of over 100 Oxford subject encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Print Encyclopedias
-
Shakespeare A to Z
by
Shakespeare A-to-Z comprises almost 3,000 al phabetical entries making this volume the most comprehensive resource on Shakespeare and his world. '
Call Number: Ref PR2892 .B69 1990 -
-
Shakespeare: An illustrated dictionary
A reference book providing a fascinating collection of information for anyone interested in the Bard, his plays, and the actors
Call Number: Ref PR2892 .W45 -
-
Shakespeares after Shakespeare : an encyclopedia of the Bard in mass media and popular culture
Reference Coll PR2880.A1 S48 2007
Call Number: Ref PR2880.A1 S48 2007 -
Shakespeare's theatre : a dictionary of his stage context
Reference Coll PR3095 .R53 2004
Call Number: Ref PR3095 .R53 2004 (also online) -
A companion to Shakespeare's works
Reference Coll PR2976 .C572 2003 -
The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare
Call Number: Ref PR2892 .O94 2001 -
-
-
A complete and systematic concordance to the works of Shakespeare
Reference Coll PR2892 .S6 -
The reader's encyclopedia of Shakespeare
Call Number: Ref PR2892 .C3
-
The Shakespeare key; a comprehensive guide to all features of Shakespeare's style, dramatic construction, and expression
Call Number: Ref PR2892 .C45 1961
Print Dictionaries
-
Dictionary of Shakespeare
Call Number: Ref PR2892 .M27 2000 (also online)Reference Coll PR2892 .M27 2000 -
The Penguin Shakespeare dictionary
Call Number: Ref PR2892 .P45 1999 -
Shakespeare's Non-Standard English
by
Call Number: Ref. PR2892 .B56 2004 (also online)ISBN: 0826473229Publication Date: 2004-05-17Most scholarly attention on Shakespeare's vocabulary has been directed towards his enrichment of the language through borrowing words from other languages. But the bulk of Shakespeare's output consists of plays and to make these appear lifelike he needed to employ a colloquial and informal style. Apart from his bawdy language, this aspect of his work has to date been largely ignored. Here for the first time is a dictionary that includes all manner of non-standard English used by Shakespeare. The Dictionary lists the types of word which constitute informal language - whether used by all speakers or less educated ones. As with other books in this series the words are grouped either by semantic identity, such as words for 'head', or by some linguistic feature such as 'discourse markers'. A list of abbreviations, select bibliography and all the expected indices are included. -
A Shakespeare thesaurus
Reference Coll PR2892 .S624 1993 -
-
A Dictionary of Shakespeare's Sexual Puns and Their Significance
by
ISBN: 0333343085Publication Date: 1984-01-01Reference Coll PR2892 .R8 1984 -
The Columbia dictionary of quotations from Shakespeare
Call Number: Ref PR2892 .F48 1998 (also online) -
Shakespeare's proverbial language : an index
Reference Coll PR2892 .D43 1981 -
A pronouncing dictionary of Shakespearean proper names
Reference Coll PR3081 .I65 1945
Biographical Sources
-
Biography (Gale In Context) Combines over 280,000 biographies from sources such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedias of World Biography, Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television, Contemporary Musicians, Historic World Leaders, Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists, Contemporary Black Biography, Religious Leaders of America, International Dictionary of Art and Artists; and many more, with full-text articles from more than 250 periodicals including American History, The Christian Century, U.S. News & World Report.
-
Dictionary of Literary Biography Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series. Access is from volume 349 to present.
-
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography An illustrated collection of more than 57,000 specially written biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past.
-
Credo Reference Provides access to more than 1300 titles, covering every major subject - from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature.
The OED
-
Oxford English DictionaryThe definitive dictionary of the English Language, including comprehensive etymologies, first date of usage noted by excerpt from attributed author. Incomparable.
Find more
Find more print and electronic encyclopedias through the library catalog by adding your keyword(s) to this reference-specific search.