The story of the American West has exerted a powerful influence over the psyche of the modern world, helping to fashion senses of national identity as well as permeating literary and cinematic culture.

American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971 is comprised of collections from the U.S. National Archives, a series of collections from the Chicago History Museum, as well as selected first-hand accounts on Indian Wars and westward migration. This resource focuses on American Indians in the first half of the 20th Century, including Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes. In addition, this resource includes collections on American Indians in the 19th Century, addressing the interaction among white settlers, the U.S. federal government, and Indian tribes.

North American Indian Thought and Culture integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files resulting in a comprehensive representation of historical events as told by the individuals who lived through them. This resource includes information on the history of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Peoples.

Compiled histories for Indian Nation/Tribes allow researchers to view all related treaties, maps, and court documents, or drill down to see content related to a specific geographic location, time, or federally recognized tribe. The compiled page makes it easy for users to trace the journeys of the Indians as U.S. government Indian removal policies pushed them from their ancestral lands and forced them to relocate, as well as the determination of the tribes to gain standing in court to bring action against the U.S. Government to seek redress for inequities in the treaty process.

This collection allows scholars to see the effect of European cultures on Indians and equally to explore the Indians’ contributions to the Europeans. The Indian perspective is recorded in a wide variety of sources, including oral accounts written down by Europeans at the time of contact and afterward, speeches, correspondence, and publications produced by Indians, such as Cusick's Sketches of Ancient History of the Six Nations and Copway’sLife, History and Travels.

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. With more than 100,000 pages of personal narratives, including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories, the collection provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines.

China, America and the Pacific explores the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries

Built in partnership with the American Antiquarian Society, this full-color digital edition offers searchable facsimiles of 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1749 and 1900. Featuring documents produced locally across the country, these rare items vividly capture the daily lives of earlier Americans.

Overland Journeys-American West

Provides comprehensive, full-text access to Congressional and Executive branch documents and reports published in the U.S. Congressional Serial Set from 1789-Present. The Serial Set Digital Collection also provides full text access to the entire American State Papers series.

Provides access to historic and current congressional information. Includes the full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, and the full text of public laws and other research materials.