Music Periodical Indexes
-
RILM Abstracts of Music LiteratureRILM covers music scholarship on a wide variety of topics and educational levels. The database includes concise abstracts and is both broad and international in its scope. All scholarly works are included (articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, films and videos, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, conference proceedings, reviews, etc.) Concert reviews, recording notes, pedagogical manuals, etc. are also included. MOST COMPREHENSIVE.
-
International Index To Music Periodicals Full Text (IIMP)Abstracts and citations for music articles on nearly all topics. Includes 355 scholarly and popular journals and has full text for 40 of those titles.
-
Music IndexInternational citations for articles on music on nearly all topics. Includes 655 scholarly and popular journals.
-
Music Index in PrintLink to catalog entry. Find these volumes in the reference section.
Non-Music Indexes with Substantial Music Content
A selected list. This is not comprehensive, as you can find music information many places. Think first about what subject you might relate your search to, and go looking for databases on that subject. This is a place to start.
-
Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is an interdisciplinary database, covering a broad range of subjects. It contains indexing for 8,172 publications, with full text for nearly 4,700 of those titles.
-
ATLA Religion Database with ATLAS SerialsBest resource for church and sacred music.
-
Education Full TextBroad education resource, useful for music education.
-
MLA BibliographyLiterature, language, linguistics, and folklore - good resource for ethnomusicology, world music, and folk music research.
-
Readers’ Guide Full TextPopular magazines in full text.
