Article Databases
-
Social Sciences Full Text This source indexes a wide variety of sources related to the social sciences including sociology, family studies, public administration, social work, etc.
-
Women’s Studies International Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.
-
Gender Studies Database Combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
-
LGBTQ+ Source Contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs and books.
-
Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier is an interdisciplinary database, covering a broad range of subjects. It contains indexing for 8,172 publications, with full text for nearly 4,700 of those titles.
The above databases may be searched simultaneously to save time. Use 
link when searching to select all topic reated databases.
-
Sociological Abstracts Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes literature in the field of sociology, as well as related literature in the social and behavioral sciences. The database includes abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers, as well as citations to book reviews.
-
Annual Reviews Online Online access to authoritative, analytic reviews published by Annual Reviews in 32 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.
-
African American Studies Center A comprehensive collection of scholarship focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Includes 7,500 articles. The core content includes Africana, which presents an account of the African and African American experience in five volumes.
**********************************
Contemporary Events
-
New York TimesUsing this link will take you to a page where you can either create a new New York Times (NYT) account or sign in to a previously-created account. You may use your Furman or personal email address; if you have previously created a personal account, you can verify it for free access through Furman via this link.
If you've already completed this setup step, simply go directly to nytimes.com to start reading. Depending on your browser configuration, or if you're using a different computer, you may need to sign in using the link at the top right. -
Nexis UniNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
-
Washington Post Activation InstructionsFollow the instructions in this PDF file to set up and activate your Washington Post account and subscription.
-
Wall Street JournalUsing this link will take you to a page where you can either create a new Wall Street Journal (WSJ) account or sign in to a previously-created account. You may use your Furman or personal email address; if you have previously created a personal account, you can verify it for free access through Furman via this link.
If you are creating a new account, you will be guided through a series of questions to personalize and configure your access preferences.
If you've already completed this setup step, simply go directly to wsj.com to start reading. Depending on your browser configuration, or if you're using a different computer, you may need to sign in using the link at the top right.
Combined Search
This box searches Women's Studies International, Gender Studies, and LGBT Life together.
Searching Tips
To ensure that the results you get on your topic are from an anthropological perspective, include (anthropol* or ethnograph*) as part of your search. Here's an example of how that might look in a database search:
Important Anthropology Journals
You may search these journals individually, or within a database such as Sociological Abstracts.