Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Catalog - Special Searches
Databases for Children's Lit Info
Picture Books Database
The Picture Books Database brings picture books and readers together, helping educators find the best picture books for their intended audience. The service combines data from dozens of online and print sources, thousands of picture books, and countless publisher, author, and illustrator websites. The database tracks hard to find data about picture books, eliminating the need to consult multiple reference books or websites.
Designed especially for students in kindergarten through grade five. Complete with a developmentally appropriate graphic interface, reference content and magazines for elementary students.
Contains full text for more than 80 popular elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Also includes the Encyclopedia of Animals™, the American Heritage® Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is an interdisciplinary database, covering a broad range of subjects. Check here for reviews of picture books.
ALSC Children's Notable Lists
Each year the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association, identifies the best of the best in children's books, recordings, and videos.
The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.
Children's Literature Association list of scholarly resources
Includes list of children's book awards, multiculturalism and international resources, theme and subject pages.
We Need Diverse Books
We Need Diverse Books™ is a 501(c)(3) non-profit and a grassroots organization of children’s book lovers that advocates essential changes in the publishing industry to produce and promote literature that reflects and honors the lives of all young people.
Reference Sources on Children's Books