Explains the theories of imporatant economists, discusses the history of economic organizations, and defines the terminology and concepts of modern economics.

The Encyclopedia of Macroeconomics is an authoritative and invaluable reference source on macroeconomics, which embraces definitions of terms and concepts, conflicting ideological approaches and the contributions of major thinkers. Comprehensive in scope, it contains over 300 short entries and more than 100 specially commissioned main entries from an internationally renowned group of scholars." "The alphabetically ordered entries will be useful both as a basic reference source and a provocative stimulus for further reading. The Encyclopedia will soon be established as a leading reference source on macroeconomics that will both enlighten students and be highly valued by scholars and teachers of economics.

This comprehensive Dictionaryis an important reference tool for all those interested in environmental science and environmental studies. Written in a clear and accessible style, the dictionary includes over three thousand up-to-date entries, all accompanied by a detailed yet straightforward definition covering all aspects of the subject. The book also includes three primers, which will bridge the gap between each discipline covered. These consist of introductions to environmental economics, international environmental problems and environmental systems, dynamics and modelling. Another unique feature is the inclusion of an appendix which lists and describes the world's major international environmental agreements. This Dictionarywith its primers and appendices will prove immensely useful to all students and scholars of environmental science and studies.

This unique encyclopedia gives in-depth coverage of economic history in all areas of the world from prehistoric times to the present.

Designed to meet the research needs of high school students and up, this two-volume set presents information on the people, businesses, industries, events, movements, and trends that comprise the economic history of the U.S. A 33-page economic chronology, divided into ten eras spanning roughly 50,00

The Gale Encyclopedia Of U.S. Economic History is an accessible one-stop resource that offers comprehensive coverage of American economic history from the arrival of Europeans to the present. Topics selected for inclusion by our distinguished board of 5 advisors have been chosen to support most textbooks on American history; this work should be a useful tool for juniors and seniors in high school, as well as college students who are beginning an investigation of the subject. The 1, 000 alphabetically arranged entries range from one paragraph to several pages in length, and cover such things as company and industry profiles, biographies of important figures, key events and movements, critical issues in U.S. economic history, state and regional profiles, and the major eras in American economic development. Additional features include sidebars, primary source text excerpts, and entry-specific lists of further reading. 01

Volume 33 contains articles on the economic history of Europe, America and Asia and brings new analysis, and newly created datasets to address issues of interest. Two papers focus on the US and contribute to our understanding of the Great Depression. In "Reexamining the Origins of the Smoot-Hawley Tariff Act", Beaudreau argues industrialists used the plight of farmers to raise tariffs on manufactured goods. And Jalil and Rua show in "Inflation Expectations in the U.S. in Fall 1933" that shifts in inflationary expectations could be responsible for the patterns in output witnessed in 1933: an expansion in the early part of the year which stalled by the Fall. Two papers present new data. "First Cabin Fares from New York to the British Isles, 1826-1914" by Dupont, Keeling and Weiss extends their work on understanding early tourism by creating a new series to examine the time path of first class travel over the 19th century.

As the global economic crisis that developed in the year 2008 makes clear, it is essential for educated individuals to understand the history that underlies contemporary economic developments. This encyclopedia will offer students and scholars access to information about the concepts, institutions/organizations, events, and individuals that have shaped the history of economics, business, and labor from the origins of what later became the United States in an earlier age of globalization and the expansion of capitalism to the present.It will include entries that explore the changing character of capitalism from the seventeenth century to the present; that cover the evolution of business practices and organizations over the same time period; that describe changes in the labor force as legally free workers replaced a labor force dominated by slaves and indentures; that treat the means by which workers sought to better their lives; and that deal with government policies and practices that affected economic activities, business developments, and the lives of working people.

From the American Revolution to the present day, our financial institutions and financial practices --from banks to the stock market to tariffs to bailouts --remain at the core of our behaviors, our politics, and even our beliefs. The documents in this set discuss the political and social currents that have affected the nation's economy and have had an impact on the fortunes of individuals, business and corporations, banks and lending institutions, the stock market, and the federal government. Some of the topics considered in this two-volume set include: the Panic of 1819, the Financial Panic of 1837, the Crash of 1929 and the Great Depression, Black Monday (1987), the Dot-Com Crash (2001), the Great Recession (2008) and the Coronavirus Pandemic (2020). Each in-depth chapter provides a thorough commentary and analysis of each primary source document, often reprinted in its entirety. Commentary includes a Summary, Overview, Defining Moment, Author Biography, Detailed Document Analysis, and discussion of Essential Themes.