Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Online Titles
A Dictionary of Computing
This best-selling dictionary has been fully revised by a team of computer specialists, making it the most up-to-date and authoritative guide to computing available. With expanded coverage of networking and databases, feature spreads on key topics, e.g. XML, and the addition of biographical entries, it is a comprehensive reference work encompassing all aspects of the subject.
A Dictionary of the Internet
This dictionary provides thousands of terms related to the Web, software technology, jargon, e-commerce, security, and the technical and organizational infrastructure of the Internet. There are also useful links to relevant websites.
Encyclopedia of Computer Science
The Encyclopedia of Computer Science is the definitive reference in computer science and technology. First published in 1976, it is still the only single volume to cover every major aspect of the field. Now in its Fourth Edition, this influential work provides an historical timeline highlighting the key breakthroughs in computer science and technology, as well as clear and concise explanations of the latest technology and its practical applications.
Encyclopedia of Algorithms
This defining reference provides a comprehensive set of solutions to important algorithmic problems for students and researchers. No comparable reference work on this subject is available, making this a genuine must-have for computer scientists.
Encyclopedia of Cryptography and Security
Definitive information on cryptography and information security from highly regarded researchers, the Encyclopedia of Cryptography and Security provides easy, intuitive access to information on all aspects of cryptography and security. The highly-structured essays in this work include synonyms, a definition and discussion of the topic, bibliographies, and links to related literature.
Find more background sources in the catalog by adding your keyword(s) to this reference-specific search:
How to Maximize Reference Sources
References sources, particularly specialized encyclopedias, offer many benefits. Consider the following tips as you review a reference source on your topic to reap all the benefits and make your researching even better.
- Get definitions and background - Reference sources assume that you are new to a topic. Jargon and specialized terminology will be explained and contextualized, which you might not get in more advanced books and journal articles.
- Get caught-up on a topic - Research is a conversation, and often it has been going on for years. Reference sources will provide a historical background and identify key developments to help you understand how we got to the current understandings and theories.
- Identify key people and theories - Who are the most important people and ideas on your topic? Reference sources will help you identify them so you can explore their lives and research more deeply.
- Find more sources - Reference sources will provide additional reading, usually in the form of references or background lists. These are a great next-step in your research process.