Furman University home page
Loading...
*Community Engaged Medicine: Getting Started
Online Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Public HealthThe Encyclopedic of Public Health presents the most important definitions, principles and general perspectives of public health, written by experts of the different fields. Entries comprise review-style articles, detailed essays and short definitions.
A Dictionary of Public HealthThe Dictionary of Public Health is an alphabetical listing of almost 5,000 words and phrases used in public health science and practice. It offers definitions, discussion, and an occasional brief commentary on the relevance of each term to people and their health.
Health Care Systems Around the WorldThis concise reference provides a one-stop point of research that examines major aspects of health care systems for over 190 countries worldwide. Each country is presented on a two- or three-page spread with the same descriptive and statistical content, allowing readers to compare health care systems from country to country.
Encyclopedia of Global HealthThe Encyclopedia of Global Health covers all aspects of health, including physical and mental health entries, biographies of major doctors and researchers, profiles of medical institutions, organizations, and corporations, descriptions of drugs and operations, articles on national health policies, and thematic health topics in the humanities.
Black's Medical DictionaryContaining more than 5,500 definitions and descriptions of medical terms and concepts, with more than 1,000 diagrams, drawings, and color illustrations--and helpful appendices on common medical tests and procedures, travel and health, measurements in medicine, health economics, complementary and alternative medicine, and an address list of professional support organizations.
Handbook of EpidemiologyThis 5-volume reference covers the entire field of epidemiology, from statistical methods and study design, to specialized areas such as molecular epidemiology, and applications in clinical medicine and health services research. This is a reference for epidemiological researchers and graduate students in public health.
Disease & Drug Overviews
- Health Topics from MedlinePlusRead about symptoms, causes, treatment and prevention for over 900 diseases, illnesses, health conditions and wellness issues. MedlinePlus health topics are regularly reviewed, and links are updated daily.
- My Healthfinder from health.govhealthfinder.gov has resources on a wide range of health topics selected from approximately 1,400 government and non-profit organizations to bring you the best, most reliable health information on the Internet.
- Diseases & Conditions from the CDCOverviews, statistics, and more for select diseases and conditions.
- Drugs, Supplements, and Herbal Information from MedlinePlusLearn about prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines, including side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more. Or browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
- Drug Information PortalThe drug resources listed in this guide include: Information about prescription and over-the-counter as well as dietary supplements and herbals; Statistics and regulations; Specialized drug information such as adverse effects, toxicology, and pill identification; Resources for specific audiences such as consumers and veterinarians; and Resources for specific uses such as cancer, analgesia, and complementary medicine.