For Scholarly Articles
- Communication Source CompleteThis resource offers information for scholars studying mass media, communications theory, linguistics, organizational communication, phonetics and speech pathology. It offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from global titles pertaining to many fields of communication studies.
Multi-Database Search
Understand Your Sources
- UlrichsWebProvides detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types, including scholarly/trade/popular, peer-review status, and indexing.
Use Ulrichs to find out if your source is refereed. If not, find out if it has a particular bias/slant in the REVIEWS section.
For Books
Search "Furman Catalog" for books (including ebooks) at Furman. Search PASCAL Delivers for books available by courier from other SC libraries (slow right now due to Covid-19).
Click the facets on the left to limit to AVAILABLE ONLINE and BOOKS.
Do not use for articles.
Government Websites
The top four boxes work like search techniques you discussed in your FYW (Boolean operators, phrase searching).
For government documents (U.S.) put [.gov] in the SITE OR DOMAIN box.
Consider selecting IN THE TITLE OF THE PAGE in the TERMS APPEARING box.
Institutional Sources
- Think Tank Search (Harvard Library)Enter your topic in the search box. It will return results from major think tanks and NGOs. If you need help creating a search statement that works, let us know!
Images
- AP Newsroom (EBSCO interface)AP Newsroom allows users to search, preview and download the latest Associated Press content. The content, produced by the AP’s network of award-winning journalists and curated by its editors, includes top news stories, photos, audio clips and print graphics. This resource also includes AP Images Collection, a primary source database from the Associated Press, one of the oldest and largest news organizations in the world that takes users on a sensory journey through history. With photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text spanning over 180 years, this collection captures the greatest events in history – and brings them to life.
To download higher resolution images, see AP Newsroom (AP interface).
