Furman University home page
Loading...
Classics: Find Articles
Best Bets for Articles in Classical Studies
These databases below are your best bets for finding quality journal articles in the field of Classics.
Scholarly, or Refereed journals are best represented in these first two resources. Keep in mind that JSTOR, a wonderful storage for articles, does not include the most recent 3-5 years of a Journal's articles. Also it has a poor search and retrieval engine, and almost anything published after 1968 in JSTOR will be found much more easily by searching through Humanities Fulltext . Click the purple FUlltext button in the results and you will be linked to anything that happens to be in JSTOR.
- Humanities and Social Sciences RetrospectiveIndexes nearly 1,200 periodicals, as far back as 1907. Citations to more than 1,300,000 articles, including over 240,000 book reviews. Indexes scholarly journals published throughout the 20th century in North America and Europe. In addition to coverage of the humanities and social sciences, the database covers many scientific journals through the 1950's.
- Humanities Full TextH.W. Wilson's Humanities databases cover nearly 400 English language periodicals in the diverse subject areas of the humanities. Among the disciplines included are literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology.
- L’Année PhilologiqueL'Année philologique is an index to scholarly work in fields related to the language, literature, history and culture of ancient Greece and Rome published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique.
- ProQuest One LiteratureProQuest One Literature contains 3 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works – including rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings.
Enhanced by interpretive sources such as book reviews and criticism sourced from wider, interdisciplinary publications in the fields such as humanities and history, it provides diverse, global perspectives with sources from all over the world – Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America - the majority of which are in full-text. - Literature Resource CenterProvides access to Biography, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes access to the Scribner Writer's Series and Twayne World, Twayne US, and Twayne English Authors.
Google Scholar
Get results at Furman through Google Scholar. Choose Preferences.
Improve Your Search
Want to make your searching even better AND faster? Check out these short videos below.
- Boolean OperatorsHow to use Boolean Operators to improve your search. (2:20)
- NestingIt's not just for the birds! How to use nesting to group keywords to keep your results relevant. (0:41)
- Truncat*Tired of trying to think of all the many ways to say the same word? Truncate it! (0:33)
- WildcardsLearn how to use wildcards for better searching, especially in international literature. (0:26)