Skip to Main Content

Civil War Digital Collections: Home

Civil War Digital Collections- Libraries, Archives, Museums and Consortia

Abraham Lincoln Papers
Digital collection from American Memory, LOC.
Southern Illinois Civil War
Civil War in the South- A Portal of the Association of Southeastern Research Libraries
Hosted by the University of Georgia
Iowa Digital Collections
North Carolina Civil War Sesquicentennial
Penn State University: The People's Contest, A Civil War Era Digital Archiving Project
Civil War Era Collection at Gettysburg College
Missouri Digital Heritage: Civil War Resources
Hidden Patterns of the Civil War, Digital Scholarship Lab, University of Richmond
Library of Congress: Civil War: Selected Resources
New York State Library: Civil War, 1861-1865
Oberlin and the Civil War
Vermonters in the Civil War, Center for Digital Initaitives, University of Vermont
Wisconsin in the Civil War
South Carolina in the Civil War
Civil War: Photographs, Manuscripts, and Imprints at SMU Central University Libraries
Looking Back: The Civil War in Tennessee
Civil War Collection, Hamilton College Library(NY)Digital Collections
West Chester University Civil War Collection
Includes some medical receipts
University of Washington Civil War Letters Collection
The Civil War Collection at Penn State
The project website features a growing number of digital collections from the Penn State special collections as well as state wide archives and regional historical societies. The project aims to advance scholarship on the experiences of the northern homefront during the civil war era, beginning in 1851 with Pennsylvanians' resistance to the Fugitive Slave Act and ending in 1874 with the revision of the state constitution.

Subject Guide

Library Reference