Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Give these a try for general background. . . .
Online Encyclopedias and Guides:
CQ Political Reference Suite
Integrates many of CQ Press's reference titles on government and politics into an electronic format that makes navigating content intuitive and easy.
Provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Almanac of American Politics, 2020
Call Number: Ref JK1012 .A44
Publication Date: 2019
International Encyclopedia of Political Science
Digital version of 8 volumes in print this encylopedia provides an essential, authoritative guide to the state of political science at the start of the 21st century and for decades to come, making it an invaluable resource for a global readership, including researchers, students, citizens, and policy makers.The encyclopedia was developed in partnership with the International Political Science Association.
Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History
Explores the events, policies, people, ideas, institutions, groups, and movements that have created and shaped political life in the United States. With contributions from scholars in the fields of history and political science, this encyclopedia provides students, researchers, and scholars the opportunity to examine the political evolution of the United States from the colonial period to the present day.
Dictionary of Political Biography
Compiled by an expert team of contributors, this dictionary covers all the major figures in world politics of the twentieth century and 21st century to 2009. Authoritative and wide-ranging, it describes and assesses the lives of more than 1,000 men and women who have shaped political events across the world.
Women in American Politics: History and Milestones
Narrative and statistics. Tables are accompanied by analyses of the complex and sometimes contradictory trends behind the facts of women's political milestones. The narrative describes how women achieved what they did in the differing categories of elective and appointive office.
Tools & Tutorials
If you're having trouble getting your ideas going, try reading a few encyclopedia articles. Look for keywords in the article and the different ways it's described there. Also check out the Reference List or Works Cited for more information on topic.
Want to make your searching even better AND faster? Check out these short videos below.
How to use Boolean Operators to improve your search. (2:20)
How to use nesting to group keywords to keep your results relevant. (0:41)
Tired of trying to think of all the many ways to say the same word? Truncate it! (0:33)
Learn how to use wildcards for better searching, especially in international literature. (0:26)