Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford Reference - Medicine & Health
Credo Reference: Psychology
Find more background sources in the catalog by adding your keyword(s) to this reference-specific search:
Worldmark Global Health and Medicine Issues
It covers current health and medicine issues with global impact in the modern world and organizations and groups addressing these issues.Each entry includes standard subheadings (Introduction, Historical Background, Impacts and Issues, and Future Implications), giving the reader easily accessible entry into various aspects of the topic.
Entries also include cross references to related topics/articles in the work, and a bibliography of print and electronic resources to facilitate and encourage further learning, research, and action.
Black's Medical Dictionary
Containing more than 5,500 definitions and descriptions of medical terms and concepts, with more than 1,000 diagrams, drawings, and color illustrations--and helpful appendices on common medical tests and procedures, travel and health, measurements in medicine, health economics, complementary and alternative medicine, and an address list of professional support organizations.
A Dictionary of Public Health
The Dictionary of Public Health is an alphabetical listing of almost 5,000 words and phrases used in public health science and practice. It offers definitions, discussion, and an occasional brief commentary on the relevance of each term to people and their health.
A Dictionary of Diet and Exercise
This dictionary covers all matters relating to diet and exercise including diet methods, food supplements, sex and exercise, sports injuries, anatomy, energy-related terms, exercises for improving strength, flexibility, stamina, weight control, training methods and principles, calorie requirements of different activities, and much more.
A Dictionary of Biomedicine
This brand new Dictionary of Biomedicine includes 10,000 A-Z entries on all areas of biomedicine. Entries are authoritative and wide-ranging, covering terms from the related areas of anatomy, genetics, molecular bioscience, pathology, pharmacology, and clinical medicine.
A Dictionary of Psychology
This authoritative and up-to-date dictionary covers all branches of psychology. Clear, concise descriptions for each entry offer extensive coverage of key areas including cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, language, mental disorder, and research methods. Supplementary material includes lists of commonly used abbreviations and symbols, as well as of phobias and phobic stimuli, with definitions. The new edition incorporates updates from the 5th edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5).