Furman University home page
Loading...
FYW: Birds and Society: Find Background
Suggested Reference Sources
The Sibley Guide to BirdsCall Number: Sci Ref QL681 .S497 2000David Allen Sibley, America's most gifted contemporary painter of birds, is the author and illustrator of this comprehensive guide. His beautifully detailed illustrations-more than 6,600 in all-and descriptions of 810 species and 350 regional populations will enrich every birder's experience.
The Encyclopedia of BirdsCall Number: Sci Ref QL673 .E53 1985This expensive fully illustrated volume gives excellent information on all kinds of birds arranged by their general size.
Handbook of the Birds of the WorldCall Number: Sci Ref QL673 .H265 1992This is an account of the world of birds, and this volume is 1st of 12. The introductory chapter is illustrated with detailed plates to complement the text, and deals with such diverse aspects as evolutionary history, anatomy, physiology, migration, and systematics.
All Reference Sources in Catalog
Birds of North America
- Birds of the World OnlineBirds of the World is a research database that brings together deep, scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology with millions of bird observations from eBird and multimedia from the Macaulay Library into a single platform where biologists and birders can explore comprehensive life history information on birds.
Encyclopedia Bundles
Reliable, scholarly alternatives to Wikipedia.
- Credo ReferenceProvides access to more than 1300 titles, covering every major subject - from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature.
- Gale EbooksGale eBooks is a Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Oxford Reference OnlineIndexes the full text of over 100 Oxford subject encyclopedias and dictionaries.
- Sage Reference OnlineOnline versions of reference titles from Sage Publications.