Digital collections that represent South Carolina's historical and cultural resources.

The Digital South Carolina Encyclopedia builds on the 2006 print volume, edited by Dr. Walter B. Edgar and with articles by more than 600 authors. Working with our partner institutions, we have enhanced the print version by adding more than 1200 photos, videos, documents, and audio recordings. In addition to the entries from the print version, we will, over time, add entries as well as update others as needed.

The Lowcountry Digital Library documents the history and culture of the region while it supports current research initiatives and cultivates creative content and digital information in appropriate formats across disciplines in support of scholarly inquiry.

Newspaper images primarily from Harpers Weekly and Frank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper.

The South Carolina Digital Newspaper Program (SCDNP) digitizes historical newspapers from the state and facilitates free access to the digital versions.

Choose a city in South Carolina 1884-1932. They occur every 5-7 years for some, others may appear only once.

Materials from the collections of the Library of Congress - written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

Sponsored by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, this digital publishing initiative provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture.

This collection is comprised first-person accounts, compiled in the postwar period and early 20th Century period, chronicle the highs and lows of army life from 1861 through 1865.

The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.

Southeastern Native American Documents, 1730-1842, contains approximately 2,000 documents and images relating to the Native American population of the Southeastern United States from the collections of the University of Georgia Libraries, the University of Tennessee at Knoxville Library, the Frank H. McClung Museum, the Tennessee State Library and Archives, the Tennessee State Museum and the Museum of the Cherokee Indian. The documents are comprised of letters, legal proceedings, military orders, financial papers, and archaeological images relating to Native Americans in the Southeast.

UNC-Chapel Hill's Southern Historical Collection provides online access to manuscript collections.

This historical map collection has over 32,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials.

Contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration (WPA) and assembled and microfilmed in 1941 as the seventeen-volume Slave Narratives: A Folk History of Slavery in the United States from Interviews with Former Slaves.