LibGuides: Urban Economics: Find Articles

Best Bets for Urban Economics Articles

These databases below are your best bets for finding quality journal articles in the field of Urban Economics.

Scholarly, or Refereed journals are best represented in these first two resources. Keep in mind that JSTOR, a wonderful storage for articles, does not include the most recent 3-5 years of a Journal's articles. Also it has a poor search and retrieval engine, and almost anything published after 1968 in JSTOR will be found much more easily by searching through EconLit . Click the purple FUlltext button in the results and you will be linked to anything that happens to be in JSTOR.

EconLit
Corresponds to Journal of Economic Literature and the Index of Economic Articles, and covers journal articles, dissertations, chapters in books, conference proceedings and entire books.
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes literature in the field of sociology, as well as related literature in the social and behavioral sciences. The database includes abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers, as well as citations to book reviews.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete contains the full text of periodicals and other sources, including: peer-reviewed journals, trade journals & general business magazines, monographs, country economic reports, industry reports & yearbooks, and market research reports. The database covers a variety of disciplines related to all areas of business.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covering more than 15,000 journals is available through this search of Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers 1900 - Present.
PAIS International
Covers issues in public policy from 1915 to present. Sources include journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more. Provides a broad perspective on social and public policies, from historical (Prohibition, civil rights, McCarthyism) to current (health policy, climate change, terrorism)
JSTOR
JSTOR is a scholarly journal archive which provides full image access to articles from over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles. JSTOR goes back to the very first issue of each journal (many of them in the 19th Century), but does not include the most recent five years.
19th Century to Five Years Ago

News, Company Info, and Financials

Factiva is the only resource where you can get daily and archived full text Wall Street Journal coverage.
This includes all editions domestically and globally.

Factiva
Access to more than 6,000 business, trade, and general publications and services, including same-day, full-text access to The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, Financial Times, Los Angeles times and the Washington Post. Company and industry comparisons. Includes Reuters News Service reports. At least 150 dailies are available by 9:00 A.M. on day of issue. Limited to six seats.

Lexis-Nexis

S&P Capital IQ
Contains business and investment information, offering on-line access to Standard & Poor’s independent research, data and commentary on stocks, bonds, funds, and industries. Individual credentials are required to use this resource; first-time users should select "New User?" in the upper right corner and follow the prompts to create an account.

Improve Your Search

Want to make your searching even better AND faster? Check out these short videos below.

Boolean Operators
How to use Boolean Operators to improve your search. (2:20)
Nesting
It's not just for the birds! How to use nesting to group keywords to keep your results relevant. (0:41)
Truncat*
Tired of trying to think of all the many ways to say the same word? Truncate it! (0:33)
Wildcards
Learn how to use wildcards for better searching, especially in international literature. (0:26)