Furman University home page
Loading...
HST 475: The Jewish Experience in America: Find Background
Try these for general background information...
Find more background sources in the catalog by adding your keyword(s) to this reference-specific search:
Or check out one of these related encyclopedias in the library's reference collection.
American Jewish Desk Reference by Call Number: Ref E184.35 .A44 1999This authoritative reference of nearly 900 entries covers all aspects of America's lively and influential Jewish culture--history, religion, rituals, family life, law, politics, business, education, music and the arts, sports, entertainment, books, language, science, and more.
Encyclopedia of Jewish American Artists by Call Number: Ref N6538.J4 B37 2007Encyclopedia of Jewish American Artists presents over 80 19th- and 20-century Jewish American artists. When appropriate, entries reveal the influence of the Jewish American encounter on the artists' work along with other factors such as gender and the immigrant experience.
Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America by Call Number: Ref BL458 .E52 2006The Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America provides information on the history and current state of women's religious experience in North America. The encyclopedia is interreligious, interracial, and multicultural and is aimed at a broad general audience.
Jewish Women in America by Call Number: Ref DS115.2 .J49 1997This encyclopedia provides the first standard reference work on the lives, history and activities of Jewish women in the United States. Covering a period which extends from the arrival of the first Jewish women in North America in 1654 to the present, this two-volume set presents the most comprehensive and detailed portrait of American Jewish women ever published, and brings together for the first time the wealth of recent scholarship on this subject.
Jewish Writers of the Twentieth Century by Call Number: Ref PN842 .J48 2003Jewish Writers of the Twentieth Century is both a comprehensive reference resource. This volume examines canonical Jewish writers, less well-known authors of Yiddish and Hebrew, and emerging Israeli writers. Contains introductory essays on Jewish-American writing, Holocaust literature and memoirs, Yiddish writing, and Anglo-Jewish literature.
The Concise Dictionary of American Jewish Biography by Call Number: Ref E184.J5 C653 1994
The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life Before and During the Holocaust by Call Number: Ref DS135.E8 E45 2001The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life before and during the Holocaust captures lost images and chronicles the people, habits and customs of more than 6,500 Jewish communities that thrived during the early part of the twentieth century only to be changed irrevocably by the war.
The Holocaust and Its Religious Impact by Call Number: Ref D804.3 .F582 2004This annotated bibliography provides a comprehensive survey of writings about the Holocaust. The authors present an overview of topics including Christian anti-judentum, anti-semitism, the moral and religious response to the Nazi persecution and genocide of the Jews, and post-World War II responses to the Holocaust as they have appeared in the thousands of books and articles published on the Holocaust.
The Holocaust and World War II Almanac by Call Number: Ref D804.17 .H65 2001Provides an exhaustive historical and interpretive view of this pivotal period in American history for students and researchers.
The Holocaust Encyclopedia by Call Number: Ref D804.3 .H64 2001This single-volume encyclopedia presents information on the major aspects of the Holocaust. Essays by scholars from eleven countries draw on a number of sources -- including recently uncovered evidence from the former Soviet bloc -- to provide in-depth studies on the political, social, religious, & moral issues of the Holocaust as well as short entries identifying events, sites, & individuals.
Online Encyclopedias
A good exercise to get to know your topic is to read articles on it from a few different types of encyclopedias. You might start by searching for information in a general encyclopedia like Encyclopedia Britannica.
Next, compare the depth and quality to what you find in specialized encyclopedias such as those found in the Gale eBooks database.
Also check out the Reference List or Works Cited in each article for more information on topic.
Reference Databases
- Biography (Gale In Context)Combines over 280,000 biographies from a variety of specialized encyclopedias, periodicals, and more.
- Oxford Reference OnlineIndexes the full text of over 100 Oxford subject encyclopedias and dictionaries.