The Hexaglot Bible comprises of Holy Scriptures of the Old and New Testaments in the original tongues (Septuagint, Syriac, Vulgate) along with authorized translations in English, German, and French. These six languages are all arranged in parallel columns, allowing for easy comparison and translation.

A new English translation of the bible with included apocryphal texts including 1st & 2nd Esdras, Tobit, Judith, Wisdom of Solomon, Sirach, Baruch, and more.

The TANAKH is the accepted translation of the Bible for Jews & is acknowledged by other religions for its accuracy & faithfulness to the text. Comprised of the Torah, Prophets (Nevi'im), & Writings (Kethuvin), it represents thirty years of collaboration between rabbis & scholars from Orthodox, Conservative & Reform Judaism, Semitic languages, & biblical studies.

Open the Schottenstein Edition and step into a study hall without walls. Feel the electricity, the excitement, the profundity, the beauty of the Talmudic experience.

'Read! Your Lord is the Most Bountiful one who taught by the pen, who taught man what he did not know.'The Qur'an, believed by Muslims to be the word of God, was revealed to the Prophet Muhammad 1400 years ago. It is the supreme authority in Islam and the living source of all Islamic teaching; it is a sacred text and a book of guidance, that sets out the creed, rituals, ethics, and laws of the Islamic religion. It has been one of the most influential books in the history of literature.

This encyclopedic work on Islam comprises English translations of all canonical hadiths, complete with their respective chains of transmission (isn ds). By conflating the variant versions of the same hadith, the repetitiveness of its literature has been kept wherever possible to a minimum. The latest methods of analysis, described in the general introduction, have been employed in an attempt to identify the person(s) responsible for each hadith.

In the Bhagavad Gita, Prince Arjuna asks direct, uncompromising& questions of his spiritual guide on the eve of a great battle. In& this expanded edition of the most famous -and popular - of Indian& criptures, Eknath Easwaran contextualizes the book culturally and historically and explains the key concepts of Hindu religious thought and the technical vocabulary of yoga. Chapter introductions, notes, and a glossary help readers understand the book's message. Most importantly, this translation uses simple, clear language to impart the poetry, universality, and timelessness of the Gita's teachings.

The Mahabharata narrates the events and aftermath of the Kurukshetra War. The epic is an important source of information on the development of Hinduism between 400 BCE and 200 CE. It is regarded by Hindus as both a text about dharma (law) and a history text.

The great Sanskrit epic of the life of Rama, ideal man and incarnation of the great god Visnu. This renowned work of ancient India has profoundly affected the literature, art, religions, and cultures of countless millions of people in South and Southeast Asian influence that is perhaps unparalleled in the history of world literature.

Among the oldest of India's spiritual texts, the Upanishads are records of intensive question-and-answer sessions given by illumined sages to their students. Widely featured in philosophy courses, the Upanishads have puzzled and inspired wisdom seekers from Yeats to Schopenhauer. Eknath Easwaran makes this challenging text more accessible by selecting the passages most relevant to readers seeking timeless truths today. His accessible, highly readable translation and lively foreword place the teachings in a contemporary context for students and general readers alike.

Meditative practice lies at the heart of the Buddhist tradition. This introductory anthology gives a representative sample of the various kinds of meditations described in the earliest body of Buddhist scripture, the Pali canon. It provides a broad introduction to their traditional context and practice and supplies explanation, context and doctrinal background to the subject of meditation. The main themes of the book are the diversity and flexibility of the way that the Buddha teaches meditation from the evidence of the canon. Covering fundamental features of Buddhist practice such as posture, lay meditation, and meditative technique it provides comments both from the principal early commentators on Buddhist practice, Upatissa and Buddhaghosa, and from reputable modern meditation teachers in a number of Theravadin traditions. This is the first book on Pali Buddhism which introduces the reader to the wide range of the canon. It demonstrates that the Buddha's meditative tradition still offers a path of practice as mysterious, awe-inspiring yet as freshly accessible as it was centuries ago, and will be of interest to students and scholars of Buddhism as well as Buddhist practitioners.

The Dhammapada, the Pali version of one of the most popular texts of the Buddhist canon, ranks among the classics of the world's great religious literature. Like all religious texts in Pali, the Dhammapada belongs to the Therevâda school of the Buddhist tradition, adherents of which are now found primarily in Kampuchea, Laos, Sri Lanka, and Thailand. Dhammapada, or "sayings of the dhamma," is taken to be a collection of the utterances of the Buddha himself. Taken together, the verses form a key body of teaching within Buddhism, a guiding voice along the struggle-laden path towards true enlightenment, or Nirvana.

The Diamond Sutra, composed in India in the fourth century CE, is one of the most treasured works of Buddhist literature and the oldest extant printed book in the world. It is known as the Diamond Sutra because its teaching is said to be like a diamond that cuts away all dualistic thought, releasing one from attachment to objects and bringing one to the further shore of enlightenment. The Sutra of Hui-neng, also known as the Platform Sutra, contains the autobiography of this pivotal figure in Zen history and some of the most profound passages in Zen literature. Hui-neng (638-713), the Sixth Patriarch of Zen in China, is often regarded as the true father of the Zen tradition. A poor illiterate woodcutter, he was said to have attained enlightenment upon hearing a recitation of The Diamond Sutra. Taken together, these two scriptures present the central teachings of a major Buddhist tradition and are essential reading for all students of Buddhism.

Since its appearance in China in the third century, The Lotus Sutra has been regarded as one of the most illustrious scriptures in the Mahayana Buddhist canon. The object of intense veneration among generations of Buddhists in China, Korea, Japan, and other parts of the world, it has had a profound impact on the great works of Japanese and Chinese literature, attracting more commentary than any other Buddhist scripture. As Watson notes in the introduction to his remarkable translation, " The Lotus Sutra is not so much an integral work as a collection of religious texts, an anthology of sermons, stories, and devotional manuals, some speaking with particular force to persons of one type or in one set of circumstances, some to those of another type or in other circumstances.

The Zend Avesta is the sacred book of Zorastrianism, containing its cosmology, law, liturgy, and the teachings of Zarathushtra. The Avesta is all that remains of a much larger body of scripture, said to have been destroyed when Alexander the Great conquered Persia. The text was assembled under Sasanian Kings in the 3rd-7th centuries.

The Way of Lao Tzu is a classic of Chinese philosophical texts, and a foundational text of Daoism. The text presents a way of life intended to restore harmony and tranquility to a disordered kingdom and advocates for the practice of wuwei, a type of 'nonaction.'

Zhuangzi: Ways of Wandering the Way presents a richly detailed, philosophically informed interpretation of the personal and interpersonal ethics found in the Daoist classic Zhuangzi, introducing a unique Daoist approach to ethics focusing on the concept of a way and our capacity for following ways.

This edition goes beyond others that largely leave readers to their own devices in understanding this cryptic work, by providing an entrée into the text that parallels the traditional Chinese way of approaching it: alongside Slingerland's exquisite rendering of the work are his translations of a selection of classic Chinese commentaries that shed light on difficult passages, provide historical and cultural context, and invite the reader to ponder a range of interpretations. The ideal student edition, this volume also includes a general introduction, notes, multiple appendices--including a glossary of technical terms, references to modern Western scholarship that point the way for further study, and an annotated bibliography.

Known throughout East Asia as Mengzi, or "Master Meng," Mencius (391-308 B.C.E.) was a Chinese philosopher of the late Zhou dynasty, an instrumental figure in the spread of the Confucian tradition, and a brilliant illuminator of its ideas. Mencius was active during the Warring States Period (403-221 B.C.E.), in which competing powers sought to control the declining Zhou empire. Like Confucius, Mencius journeyed to one feudal court after another, searching for a proper lord who could put his teachings into practice. Only a leader who possessed the moral qualities of a true king could unify China, Mencius believed, and in his defense of Zhou rule and Confucian philosophy, he developed an innovative and highly nuanced approach to understanding politics, self-cultivation, and human nature, profoundly influencing the course of Confucian thought and East Asian culture. Mencius is a record of the philosopher's conversations with warring lords, disciples, and adversaries of the Way, as well as a collection of pronouncements on government, human nature, and a variety of other philosophical and political subjects. Mencius is largely concerned with the motivations of human actors and their capacity for mutual respect. He builds on the Confucian idea of ren, or humaneness, and places it alongside the complementary principle of yi, or rightness, advancing a complex notion of what is right for certain individuals as they perform distinct roles in specific situations.

A master translator's beautiful and accessible rendering of the seminal Chinese text In a radically new translation and interpretation of the I Ching, David Hinton strips this ancient Chinese masterwork of the usual apparatus and discovers a deeply poetic and philosophical text. Teasing out an elegant vision of the cosmos as ever-changing yet harmonious, Hinton reveals the seed from which Chinese philosophy, poetry, and painting grew. Although it was and is widely used for divination, the I Ching is also a book of poetic philosophy, deeply valued by artists and intellectuals, and Hinton's translation restores it to its original lyrical form. Previous translations have rendered the I Ching as a divination text full of arcane language and extensive commentary. Though informative, these versions rarely hint at the work's philosophical heart, let alone its literary beauty.

Japan's oldest surviving narrative, the eighth-century Kojiki, chronicles the mythical origins of its islands and their ruling dynasty through a diverse array of genealogies, tales, and songs that have helped to shape the modern nation's views of its ancient past. Gustav Heldt's engaging new translation of this revered classic aims to make the Kojiki accessible to contemporary readers while staying true to the distinctively dramatic and evocative appeal of the original's language. It conveys the rhythms that structure the Kojiki's animated style of storytelling and translates the names of its many people and places to clarify their significance within the narrative. An introduction, glossaries, maps, and bibliographies offer a wealth of additional information about Japan's earliest extant record of its history, literature, and religion.

Nihon Shoki or Nihongi is the second-oldest book of classical Japanese literature, and the oldest official history of Japan. It was originally written in Chinese and compiled as a means of fitting Japanese mythology into a Chinese context. The myths and origin stories collected in the Nihon Shoki are foundational to Shintoism.