LibGuides: FYW: Adventures in Genre: Find Articles

General Databases

Start here when you are looking for interdisciplinary content or aren't sure where to start. These databases will cover a wide range of subjects, including peer-reviewed journal articles, news, and magazine articles.

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is an interdisciplinary database, covering a broad range of subjects. It contains indexing for 8,172 publications, with full text for nearly 4,700 of those titles.
Readers’ Guide Full Text
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature indexes 240 magazines--the ones most often found in school, public, and college library collections, as well as the New York Times.
UlrichsWeb
Check this database for more information on a periodical source - is it peer-reviewed? Is there a known bias?

How do I get the full text of an article from a database?

Full-text articles are available online and in print. Here are the various ways to get to full text articles available from the Furman Libraries.

If you are looking at the article citation in a database, look for a PDF or HTML icon. Clicking on the PDF or HTML icon will give you the full text of the article.

If you don't see a PDF or HTML icon, then clicking on the FUll Text icon will automatically start the search process.

If the full text is available online, you will be provided with a link to the correct database. Often this will take you directly to the article.

If there is no online option, check to see if we have the journal in print through the catalog. If we do, just note the location details, then go forth and copy!

If we don't have it online or in print, will get a copy from another library. Clicking this link will populate a request form with the citation information for this article once you login to your account.Interlibrary Loan

Subject-Specific Databases

These databases are specific to their discipline. The more specific you can be, the better.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLAS Serials
The ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Index is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. ATLASerials is an online collection of major religion and theology journals selected by leading religion scholars and theologians.
1949 to the present, though not all publications begin in 1949.
MLA Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1963 to the present. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
Humanities Full Text
H.W. Wilson's Humanities databases cover nearly 400 English language periodicals in the diverse subject areas of the humanities. Among the disciplines included are literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology.
Philosopher’s Index
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.

More Databases and Indexes by Subject
The complete list from Furman University Libraries, by subject.