Furman University home page
Loading...
FYW: Hispanic Masculinities: Find Books & Articles
Writing Matters
“First, you write for yourself... always, to make sense of experience and the world around you. It’s one of the ways I stay sane. Our stories, our books, our films are how we cope with the random trauma-inducing chaos of life as it plays.” — Bruce Springsteen
Catalog Search Box
Databases for Finding Articles
- Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is an interdisciplinary database, covering a broad range of subjects. It contains indexing for 8,172 publications, with full text for nearly 4,700 of those titles.
- Gender Studies DatabaseCombines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full TextThis database provides indexing and abstracts for over 400 publications on television and film, as well as full text for more than 150 journals and books. In addition, Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
- Social Sciences Full TextThis source indexes a wide variety of sources related to the social sciences including sociology, family studies, public administration, social work, etc.
For Spanish Speakers
- Fuente AcademicaOffers more than 450 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology.
Google Scholar is a search engine that crawls the internet in a similar way to regular Google, but with only scholarly content returned. Great like Google is great but know the caveats:
- Searches cannot be limited by subject or academic discipline so you will have to weed out the results that don't fit
- Peer review and other categories of information are not inidcated
- GS makes no distinscion of results that are from vanity presses, AI or that have been retracted
- If GS leads you to a publisher's site, never pay for the article--the Library can get it for you
Hispanophonic World
Salvabl, CC BY-SA 4.0 <https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0>, via Wikimedia Commons