Furman University home page
FYW: Comics, the 9th Art: Articles
Recommended Databases
General Purpose Databases
- Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier is an interdisciplinary database, covering a broad range of subjects. It contains indexing for 8,172 publications, with full text for nearly 4,700 of those titles.
Discipline Specific Databases
- MLA Bibliography The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1963 to the present. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
- Philosopher’s Index The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
- Humanities Full Text H.W. Wilson's Humanities databases cover nearly 400 English language periodicals in the diverse subject areas of the humanities. Among the disciplines included are literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology.
- Sociological Abstracts Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes literature in the field of sociology, as well as related literature in the social and behavioral sciences. The database includes abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers, as well as citations to book reviews.
- Communication Source Complete This resource offers information for scholars studying mass media, communications theory, linguistics, organizational communication, phonetics and speech pathology. It offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from global titles pertaining to many fields of communication studies.
Find more disciplines, databases, and resource types available from the University Libraries on our all databases list
Is This Journal Peer-Reviewed?
- UlrichsWebProvides detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types, including scholarly/trade/popular, peer-review status, and indexing.
From citation to article text
Using the bibliography of a relevant article is one of the best ways to find other relevant articles on your topic. The fulltext of the article may be available electronically in one of the library's many databases. Complete as much as you can of the form below.
Citation: Abate, M. A. (2021). “Sometimes My Hand Shakes So Much I Have to Hold My Wrist to Draw”: Charles M. Schulz and Disability. Inks: The Journal of the Comics Studies Society, 5(2), 135–154.
Know the article you are looking for?
For all available citation fields, try the full Citation Finder.
If you know the DOI, that's all you need!
Popular VS. Scholarly
This very good video from CSUCB's Pfau Library will help explain the difference between scholarly and popular articles and how to tell which you are looking at.
Articles from a Database
Full-text articles are available online and in print. Here are the various ways to get to full text articles available from the Furman Libraries.
- If you are looking at the article citation in a database, look for a PDF icon or the "FUll Text?" icon. Clicking on the "FUll Text?" icon will automatically start the search process below looking just for that one article.
- If the full text is available online, you will be provided with a link to the correct database. Often this will take you directly to the article.
**Note: There is often more than one Full Text from . . . link. While any of the links should take you to the article, it is best practice to start from the top and work your way down the list.
- Some articles - particularly in the sciences and psychology - may be found in a resource called ScienceDirect. If it is, the option to "Request full-text from Get it Now (for students and others without a ScienceDirect account)" will appear. Follow this link and use your Furman email address (@furman.edu) to complete the request.
- If we don't have it online, Interlibrary Loan will get a copy from another library or from our print collection. Clicking this link will populate a request form with the citation information for this article once you login to your account. You must have or create an ILLiad account to use this feature.
