Furman University home page
Loading...
Buddhism: Articles
EBSCO HOST
Search Tools & Tutorials
cc licensed (BY NC) flickr photo shared by marcos c.Not finding enough on your topic? Not finding anything on your topic? Are you using the best keywords and concepts to describe what you're looking for?
Brainstorming the different words and phrases used to describe your topic is one the most helpful things you can do to start your research. It gets you really thinking about your topic and the ways it can be approached.
If you're having trouble getting the storm started, try reading a few encyclopedia articles. Look for keywords in the article and the different ways it's described there. Also check out the Reference List or Works Cited for more information on topic.
Want to make your searching even better AND faster? Check out these short videos below.
- Boolean OperatorsHow to use Boolean Operators to improve your search. (2:20)
- NestingHow to use nesting to group keywords to keep your results relevant. (0:41)
- TruncationTired of trying to think of all the many ways to say the same word? Truncate it! (0:33)
- WildcardsLearn how to use wildcards for better searching, especially in international literature. (0:26)
- Field SearchingUse the different fields to refine and narrow your search results. (1:05)
- Subject HeadingsUse subject headings to find related items quickly and easily. (1:24)
Databases
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLAS SerialsThe ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Index is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. ATLASerials is an online collection of major religion and theology journals selected by leading religion scholars and theologians. Users can read articles or research the history of a topic from 1949 to the present. Also covers religious research in related fields such as sociology, anthropology, psychology, history, medic
- MLA BibliographyThe MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1963 to the present. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesFull content of the whole twenty years of the annual printed Bibliography of Asian Studies (from 1971–1991), plus citations for articles from 1992 to the present in more than 100 journals in the field of Asian studies. Contains over 590,000 references to books, journal articles, individually-authored monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc.
- Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is an interdisciplinary database, covering a broad range of subjects. It contains indexing for 8,172 publications, with full text for nearly 4,700 of those titles.
- Essay & General Literature IndexIndexes "essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. More than 300 volumes are indexed annually. Additionally, more than 20 annuals and serial publications such as Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society, The Supreme Court Review, Dickens Studies Annual, and Anglo-Saxon England are indexed. 1985 to the present.
- JSTORJSTOR is a scholarly journal archive which provides full image access to articles from over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
How do I get the full text of an article from a database?
Full-text articles are available online and in print. Here are the various ways to get to full text articles available from the Furman Libraries.
- If you are looking at the article citation in a database, look for a PDF or HTML icon. Clicking on the PDF or HTML icon will give you the full text of the article.
- If you don't see a PDF or HTML icon, then clicking on the FULLText icon will automatically start the search process.
- If the full text is available online, you will be provided with a link to the correct database. Often this will take you directly to the article.
- If there is no online option, You will have the option to request a copy - from another library via interlibrary loan, or from our own collections via Scan & Deliver if available . Clicking the "Request a copy" link will populate a request form with the citation information for this article once you login to your account.
- You can also check the library catalog to see if the article is available in one of the library's print collections, and then go scan or photocopy the article yourself.