Furman University home page
Loading...
SOC 235:Sociology of Education: Home
One
Join the Conversation!
Where to go to find scholarly literature (articles, studies, dissertations and books) in the fields of sociology and education.
- Sociological AbstractsFlagship database in Sociology.
- ERICERIC is the world's largest source of education information, with nearly 1 million abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice.
- Google ScholarBest after you have familiarized yourself with topic and authors. If used while logged into Furman's network, GS will link to text of articles and interlibrary loan.
Two
Speak the Language!
- Experiment with different keywords to find articles on your topic. Use synonyms and related concepts, for example (teenage* OR youth OR adolescent*) (shooting* OR violence) (lonliness OR isolation), until you find articles that relate to your topic
- Make note of the subject they have been given in the database.
- Now use the specific subjects to search more precisely:
Three
Find Non-Academic Articles
In addition to scholarly articles there are many good sources that provide background, context and informed opinions about issues in education. These resources can help you locate timely, thoughtful articles and editorials on your topic:
- Chronicle of Higher EducationPublished weekly, the Chronicle of Higher Education is a top source for news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
- Nexis UniUse to search The New York Times and other major newspapers
Four
Keep Track!
Create your own UN/PW account in one of the utilities below to maintain a list of articles you read. RefWorks and Zotero will format your references in American Sociological Association (ASA) style, as well as APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.
- RefWorksRefWorks is a bibliographic management program that allows users to create personal databases and use them for a variety of research activities. References can be quickly and easily imported into RefWorks from text files or online databases. Users can automatically insert references from their database into their papers, generating formatted bibliographies and manuscripts.