Furman University home page
Loading...
SOC 201: Social Problems: Home
Finding News Articles
- Access World News Research Collection Find diverse global, local, regional, and national perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, and web-only content. Also included are the following Access Modules: Business News, U.S. Newswires, Military, Government, and Defense, and Acceda Noticias. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.
- Chronicle of Higher Education Published weekly, the Chronicle of Higher Education is a top source for news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
Campus Social Problems
Scholarly Sociology Articles
- Sociological Abstracts Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes literature in the field of sociology, as well as related literature in the social and behavioral sciences. The database includes abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers, as well as citations to book reviews.
- Social Sciences Full Text This source indexes a wide variety of sources related to the social sciences including sociology, family studies, public administration, social work, etc.
- Annual Reviews Online Online access to authoritative, analytic reviews published by Annual Reviews in 32 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.
Citation Organizers
- RefWorks RefWorks is a bibliographic management program that allows users to create personal databases and use them for a variety of research activities. References can be quickly and easily imported into RefWorks from text files or online databases. Users can automatically insert references from their database into their papers, generating formatted bibliographies and manuscripts.
Refworks is a citation management tool.
- You must create your own user name and password.
- You can import citation information into Refworks from most library databases.
- It allows you to generate bibliographies in many formats.
- You can organize your citations into folders.
- Your Refworks account lasts even after you graduate, so you can take the information to grad school or work.
