LibGuides: PVS 101 Introduction to Poverty Studies (Gilliland): Articles

Characteristics of Peer Reviewed or Refereed Articles

Peer reviewed or refereed articles

Written in plain format with specialized language by researchers or experts who wish to report on original research or experimentation for professionals
Go through the peer review process
Easily identifiable using database filters, icons, and UlrichsWeb
Include a bibliography and footnotes for other scholars to review and consider for future publications

Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Provides coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Articles are available in both PDF and HTML full-text. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
Indexing 1980-present; Fulltext for most titles, 1994-present. Indexing 1980-present; Fulltext for most titles, 1994-present.
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is an interdisciplinary database, covering a broad range of subjects. It contains indexing for 8,172 publications, with full text for nearly 4,700 of those titles.
Social Sciences Full Text
This source indexes a wide variety of sources related to the social sciences including sociology, family studies, public administration, social work, etc.
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes literature in the field of sociology, as well as related literature in the social and behavioral sciences. The database includes abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers, as well as citations to book reviews.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covering more than 15,000 journals is available through this search of Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers 1900 - Present.

Data

ICPSR Direct
Data sets from the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research. Most data for retrospective data sets is also available via CD-ROM.
PAIS International
Covers issues in public policy from 1915 to present. Sources include journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more. Provides a broad perspective on social and public policies, from historical (Prohibition, civil rights, McCarthyism) to current (health policy, climate change, terrorism)
OECD iLibrary
Social Explorer
Social Explorer provides access to current and historical census data and demographic information and lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change. Among other documents Social Explorer includes the entire US Census from 1790 to 2010, annual updates from the American Community Survey, the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) from 1980 to 2010 and Carbon Emissions Data for 2002 from the Vulcan Project.
Statista
Statista is a data aggregation and research platform covering worldwide markets, industries, and societal topics. This resource offers over 1.5 million world-wide statistics along with forecasting on 500 areas from 41 countries for a period of 5 years. Working from more than 20,000 public and private reports, the information is prepared and vetted by a research team of more than 100 analysts in Hamburg, Germany.