Furman University home page
Loading...
HST 476: Senior Seminar: Home
Secondary Scholarly Sources
- America: History & Life Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from over 2000 English language journals. Also includes book reviews.
- Social Sciences Full Text This source indexes a wide variety of sources related to the social sciences including sociology, family studies, public administration, social work, etc.
- JSTOR JSTOR is a scholarly journal archive which provides full image access to articles from over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles. JSTOR goes back to the very first issue of each journal (many of them in the 19th Century), but does not include the most recent five years.
Books at Furman and in PASCAL
Featured Books
The Slow Undoing by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2021A study of how South Carolina's federal district courts were central to achieving and solidifying gains during the civil rights movement As the first comprehensive study of one state's federal district courts during the long civil rights movement, The Slow Undoing argues for a reconsideration of the role of the federal courts in the civil rights movement.
Living in the Future by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9780226836805Publication Date: 2024Living in the Future reveals the unexplored impact of utopian thought on the major figures of the Civil Rights Movement. Utopian thinking is often dismissed as unrealistic, overly idealized, and flat-out impractical--in short, wholly divorced from the urgent conditions of daily life. This is perhaps especially true when the utopian ideal in question is reforming and repairing the United States' bitter history of racial injustice. But as Victoria W. Wolcott provocatively argues, utopianism is actually the foundation of a rich and visionary worldview, one that specifically inspired the major figures of the Civil Rights Movement in ways that haven't yet been fully understood or appreciated.
Primary Sources and Newspapers
Guide to primary scources available online at Furman:
- History VaultProQuest History Vault consists of manuscript and archival collections digitized in partnership and from a wide variety of archival institutions. Major collection areas in History Vault focus on the Black Freedom Movement of the 20th Century, Southern Life and Slavery, Women's Rights, International Relations, American Politics and Society with a strong focus on the 20th Century, and labor unions, workers and radical politics in the 20th Century. On the topic of civil rights and Black Freedom, History Vault contains records of four of the most important civil rights organizations of the 1950s and 1960s: NAACP, SCLC, SNCC, and CORE.
- Archives UnboundTopics include African America, Communists, and the National Negro Congress;
Black Economic Empowerment: The National Negro Business League;
Black Liberation Army and the Program of Armed Struggle;
Black Nationalism and the Revolutionary Action Movement: The Papers of Muhammad Ahmad (Max Stanford);
FBI Surveillance of James Forman and SNCC;
Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist, and Woman;
Federal Surveillance of African Americans;
Fight for Racial Justice and the Civil Rights Congress;
Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement;
Southern Negro Youth Congress and the Communist Party;
We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death: Freedom Riders in the South
- Independent VoicesIndependent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
