Furman University home page
Loading...
HST 122: The United States Since 1877 Strobel: Primary Sources
Historical Newspapers and Other Periodicals
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersSimultaneously search more than fifty major historical American and Canadian newspapers, including the largest circulating African-American newspapers.
- 19th Century US NewspapersProvides digital images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
- African American Newspapers
Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. Features papers from more than 35 states—including significant 19th century titles.
- America’s Historical NewspapersProvides access to early American newspapers from 1690 to1922. Offers over 2000 searchable historical American newspapers. Focuses largely on the 18th and early 19th century newspapers from all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Also includes African American newspapers from 1827 to 1998.
- American Periodicals SeriesDigitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
- Atlanta Constitution Historical Full Image from 1868Searchable full image of every page of the Atlanta Constitution including all advertisements.
- Boston Globe Historical Full Image from 1872Searchable full image of every page of the Boston Globe including all advertisements.
- British Periodicals I,II,III, and IVTraces the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals' and beyond. Consists of more than 460 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s, comprising more than two centuries of British history and culture.
- Chicago Defender Historical Full Image from 1910Searchable full image of every page of the Chicago Defender including all advertisements. The Chicago Defender has been a voice of the black community with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago.
- Chicago Tribune Historical Full Image from 1849Searchable full image of every page of the Chicago Tribune including all advertisements.
- Christian Science Monitor: Historical Full Image from 1908Searchable full image of every page of the Christian Science Monitor including all advertisements.
- Hartford Courant: Historical Full Image from 1764Searchable full image of every page of the Hartford Courant including all advertisements.
- Humanities and Social Sciences RetrospectiveIndexes nearly 1,200 periodicals, as far back as 1907. Citations to more than 1,300,000 articles, including over 240,000 book reviews. Indexes scholarly journals published throughout the 20th century in North America and Europe. In addition to coverage of the humanities and social sciences, the database covers many scientific journals through the 1950's.
- Los Angeles Times Historical Full Image from 1881Searchable full image of every page of the Los Angeles Times including all advertisements.
- New York Times Historical Full Image from 1851Searchable full image of every page of the New York Daily Times and New York Times including all advertisements.
- New York Tribune Historical 1841-1922 Full ImageSearchable full image of every page of the New York Tribune including all advertisements.
- Readers’ Guide RetrospectiveThe Readers' Guide Retrospective indexes the most popular, general-interest journals and magazines published in the United States from 1890 to 1982.
- Times Digital Archive [London] 1785-1985 Full ImageFull-image online archive of every page published by The Times [London]. The archive covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. Provides the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials and advertising.
- Wall Street Journal HistoricalSearchable full image of every page of the Wall Street Journal including all advertisements. Coverage begins with 1889 and continues to an 8-year moving wall.
- Washington Post HistoricalSearchable full image of every page of the Washington Post including all advertisements. Coverage begins with 1877 and continues to a 7-year moving wall.
18th & 19th Century Newspapers on Microfilm
Find Older Articles
- Readers’ Guide RetrospectiveThe Readers' Guide Retrospective indexes the most popular, general-interest journals and magazines published in the United States from 1890 to 1982.
- American Periodicals SeriesDigitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
Scholarly Articles
- America: History & LifeHistorical coverage of the United States and Canada from over 2000 English language journals. Also includes book reviews.
Databases with Primary Sources
- Digital National Security Archive (DNSA)Created in collaboration with the National Security Archive, this database is a comprehensive collection available of primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Contains declassified government documents. Includes 33 collections consisting of over 80,000 indexed documents, with more than 500,000 total pages.
1945 - present - AP Newsroom (EBSCO interface)AP Newsroom allows users to search, preview and download the latest Associated Press content. The content, produced by the AP’s network of award-winning journalists and curated by its editors, includes top news stories, photos, audio clips and print graphics. This resource also includes AP Images Collection, a primary source database from the Associated Press, one of the oldest and largest news organizations in the world that takes users on a sensory journey through history. With photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text spanning over 180 years, this collection captures the greatest events in history – and brings them to life.
To download higher resolution images, see AP Newsroom (AP interface). - U.S. History (Gale In Context)U.S. History In Context provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people. Includes over 5,000 primary source documents, reference materials, and journal titles.
- Congressional Service and Historical Indexes, 1789 - 1984Provides access to historic and current congressional information. Includes the full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, and the full text of public laws and other research materials.
- HeinOnline HeinOnline is a fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law.
- U.S. Congressional RecordThe Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session.This site contains Congressional record volumes from 140 (1994) to the present. For older copies us Hein Online database.
University Sources
- Early Americas Digital ArchiveA collection of electronic texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820... Published and supported by the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities (MITH) at the University of Maryland.
- Avalon Project:Documents in Law, History, and DiplomacyYale Law School
- American Notes: Travel in America, 1750-1920253 published narratives by Americans and foreign visitors recounting their travels in the colonies and the United States and their observations and opinions about American peoples, places, and society from about 1750 to 1920.
- Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930Harvard University Collections. Concentrating heavily on the 19th century, Immigration to the US includes over 400,000 pages from more than 2,200 books, pamphlets, and serials, over 9,600 pages from manuscript and archival collections, and more than 7,800 photographs.
- European DocumentsPrimary documents and literature by country.
- Southern Historical CollectionUNC-Chapel Hill
The collections listed here were digitized in whole or in part under this program. Clicking on a collection name will take you to the collection's finding aid (a descriptive guide to the collection's contents). To search for other SHC collections or other digitized collections in UNC-Chapel Hill's University Library, please use the online catalog. - Americas ArchiveIts goal is to represent the full range and complexity of a multilingual “Americas” that includes Canada, the Caribbean, and Latin America from the beginning of colonization to the present.
Managed by the Center for Digital Scholarship at Fondren Library, Rice University.
Presidential Libraries
Document Collections and Classified/Declassified Sources
- Archives UnboundPresents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents. Collections cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.
- Wilson Center Digital Archive-International History DeclassifiedThis depository collects the research of three Wilson Center projects which focus on the interrelated histories of the Cold War, Korea, and Nuclear Proliferation.
- Digital National Security Archive (DNSA)Created in collaboration with the National Security Archive, this database is a comprehensive collection available of primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Contains declassified government documents. Includes 33 collections consisting of over 80,000 indexed documents, with more than 500,000 total pages.
1945 - present - Human Rights Studies OnlineA research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. Includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than thirty additional subjects. Resources for each topic guide users through the full scope of the event, from the historical context that made such violations possible through the international response, prosecution of perpetrators, and steps toward rebuilding.
- Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960–1975This module covers U.S. involvement in the region from the early days of the Kennedy administration, through the escalation of the war during the Johnson administration, to the final resolution of the war at the Paris Peace Talks and the evacuation of U.S. troops in 1973. Along the way, documents in this module trace the actions and decisions at the highest levels of the U.S. foreign policy apparatus, as well as events on the ground in Vietnam, from the perspective of State Department officials, Associated Press reporters, and members of the U.S. Armed forces, including the Marines and the Military Assistance Command Vietnam.
- History VaultProQuest History Vault consists of manuscript and archival collections digitized in partnership and from a wide variety of archival institutions. Major collection areas in History Vault focus on the Black Freedom Movement of the 20th Century, Southern Life and Slavery, Women's Rights, International Relations, American Politics and Society with a strong focus on the 20th Century, and labor unions, workers and radical politics in the 20th Century. On the topic of civil rights and Black Freedom, History Vault contains records of four of the most important civil rights organizations of the 1950s and 1960s: NAACP, SCLC, SNCC, and CORE. History Vault's collections on Slavery and Southern plantations candidly document the realities of slavery at the most immediate grassroots level in Southern society and provide revealing documentation on the functioning of the slave system.
- AM ExplorerThis database includes access to 100 Titles across 64 unique Primary Source Digital Collections from Adam Matthew. Topics range from Medical Services and Warfare to Shakespeare, from Victorian Popular Culture to Jewish Life in America.
Catalog Search Box
Journals, diaries, and autobiographies are primary documents.
Print Primary Documents
- Public papers of the Presidents of the United StatesCall Number: US Documents Collection AE 2.114:ISBN: 00797626
- Treaties and Other International Acts, SeriesCall Number: US Docs Collection S 9.10:
- Administration of justice in Mississippi byCall Number: US Document Collection CR 1.2:A 35
Presidential Papers
The Public Papers of the Presidents is a series starting with Herbert Hoover and continuing through Barak Obama that contains messages to Congress, speeches, transcripts of news conferences, selected important press releases of the White House and other activities of the Presidents (read more information about the series). The print series is in the Government Documents Collection on the ground floor of the JB Duke Library. The online version of The Public Papers of the Presidents is available for Presidents Reagan through Obama.
For earlier Presidents see:
Papers of George Washington (Revolutionary War Series and Colonial Series) (print)
Papers of John Adams (print)
The Papers of Thomas Jefferson (print) (online)
The Papers of James Monroe (print) (online)
John Quincy Adams and American continental empire; letters,papers and speeches (print)
The Papers of Andrew Jackson (print)
The American Presidency Project: Martin Van Buren
The American Presidency Project: William Henry Harrison
The American Presidency Project: John Tyler
The Correspondence of James Polk (print)
The American Presidency Project: Zachary Taylor
The American Presidency Project: Millard Fillmore
The American Presidency Project: Franklin Pierce
The Works of James Buchanan, Comprising His Speeches, State Papers, and Private Correspondence (print)
The Lincoln Papers; The Story of the Collection, with Selections to July 4, 1861
Abraham Lincoln, His Speeches and Writings
The Writings of Abraham Lincoln (online)
The Papers of Andrew Johnson (print)
The Papers of Ulysses S. Grant (print)
The American Presidency Project: Rutherford B. Hayes
The Life and Letters of James Abram Garfield (print)
The American Presidency Project: Chester Arthur
The American Presidency Project: Grover Cleveland
The American Presidency Project: Benjamin Harrison
The American Presidency Project: William McKinley
The Works of Theodore Roosevelt (print)
Presidential Addresses and State Papers of William Howard Taft(print)
The Papers of Woodrow Wilson (print)
The American Presidency Project: Warren Harding
The American Presidency Project: Calvin Coolidge
The Public Papers and Addresses of Franklin D. Roosevelt (print)