Furman University home page
HST 121: Early North America to 1877 - Benson: Find Articles-Secondary Sources
Best Bets for Articles
These databases below are your best bets for finding quality journal articles in the field of Economics.
Scholarly, or Refereed journals are best represented in these first two resources. Keep in mind that JSTOR, a wonderful storage for articles, does not include the most recent 3-5 years of a Journal's articles. Also it has a poor search and retrieval engine, and almost anything published after 1968 in JSTOR will be found much more easily by searching through America: History and Life . Click the purple FUlltext button in the results and you will be linked to anything that happens to be in JSTOR.
-
America: History & LifeHistorical coverage of the United States and Canada from over 2000 English language journals. Also includes book reviews.
-
Periodicals Archive OnlinePeriodicals Archive Online provides a digital archive of over 750 historically respected, international journals in the humanities and social sciences, spanning more than two centuries of content. Over 750 historically respected journals are provided from volume 1, issue 1, with titles selected by an expert editorial team.
-
American Periodicals SeriesDigitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
-
Periodicals Index OnlinePeriodicals Index Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 6,000 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. It spans 37 key subject areas in the humanities and social sciences. Periodicals Index Online currently indexes over 20 million articles going as far back as 1665 and every article in each journal is indexed, from volume 1 issue 1 to recent times.
-
JSTOR
JSTOR is a scholarly journal archive which provides full image access to articles from over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles. JSTOR goes back to the very first issue of each journal (many of them in the 19th Century), but does not include the most recent five years.
19th Century Articles and Personal Accounts
-
Making of AmericaProvides access to 267 monographs and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
-
American Periodicals SeriesDigitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
-
Southern Literary Messenger: Literature of the Old SouthThe Southern Literary Messenger enjoyed an impressive thirty-year run and was in its time the South’s most important literary periodical. Avowedly a southern publication, the Southern Literary Messenger was also the one literary periodical published that was widely circulated and respected among a northern readership. Deomstrates how the hot-button topics of slavery and secession were presented in southern intellectual and literary culture in the early stages of the Civil War.