Furman University home page
COM 101: Public Speaking - DeLancey: Legislation
National Legislation
NATIONAL LEGISLATION
Search broad subject areas and issues in CQ Researcher. Check the "Outlook" section for pending legislation.
Search CQ Weekly by keyword or bill number to read about current legislation before Congress. Remember if an introduced bill does not become law, it may be introduced again in a new session of Congress but it will have a new number. Use keywords and bill name to trace legislation from one session of Congress to another.
Search Congress.Gov by bill number or popular name of a bill for up-to-the minute status of legislation. Once legislation is passed, it becomes law and is assigned a Public Law number. Thomas will keep track of all number changes.
Use Lexis-Nexis or Factiva to find newspaper coverage of legislation and the surrounding issues.
- CQ WeeklyOnline version of the print resource. Provides articles, statistics, floor votes and other information on the current activities of Congress.
- Congress.govCongress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. It includes committee reports, the Congressional record, legislation text, and more.
- CQ ResearcherGood place to begin research on current topics. Covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more. Updated weekly.
- FactivaAccess to more than 6,000 business, trade, and general publications and services, including same-day, full-text access to The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, Financial Times, Los Angeles times and the Washington Post. Company and industry comparisons. Includes Reuters News Service reports. At least 150 dailies are available by 9:00 A.M. on day of issue. Limited to six seats.
- Nexis UniNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
State & Local Legislation
STATE LEGISLATION
Search Newspaper Source Plus or Lexis-Nexis for (legislation AND state name) to see current issues that face that state. Then go to state legislation page to get latest news on where the legislation stands.
- Greenville NewsThe Greenville News is a daily newspaper published in Greenville, South Carolina. This database includes issues going back to 1999 as well as current local articles.
- FactivaAccess to more than 6,000 business, trade, and general publications and services, including same-day, full-text access to The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, Financial Times, Los Angeles times and the Washington Post. Company and industry comparisons. Includes Reuters News Service reports. At least 150 dailies are available by 9:00 A.M. on day of issue. Limited to six seats.
Colleges & Universities
To search for rule or policy issues at colleges and universities, search The Chronicle of Higher Education as well as general interest newspapers and news sources.
- Chronicle of Higher EducationPublished weekly, the Chronicle of Higher Education is a top source for news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
- Furman Student NewpapersDigitized copies of the Furman University student publication The Furman Hornet (1916 to 1961) and copies of The Paladin (1961-1999). Additional issues will be added in the future.
U.S. Capitol
