Furman University home page
Loading...
AST 470: Religion, Identity and Violence: Home
Catalog Search Box
Chicago (Citation not the city)
- Chicago Manual of Style Online Provides access to the 18th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style. Contents are searchable and browseable. Includes tools and a quick citation guide.
- Quick Guide - Chicago Style Basic overview of both the notes and bibliography and author/date style from Chicago Manual of Style Online.
- Chicago Style from the Purdue OWL Discussion, examples, and sample papers for both Author-Date and Notes & Bibliography systems.
- Chicago Documentation Style From the Writing Center @ University of Wisconsin-Madison.
- Citing Your Sources Online guide from Furman Libraries with more details on citing resources, citation management tools, and academic honesty.
Article Databases
Scholarly Article Databases:
These EBSCO databases may be searched individually or in combination:
- Social Sciences Full Text This source indexes a wide variety of sources related to the social sciences including sociology, family studies, public administration, social work, etc.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLAS Serials The ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Index is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. ATLASerials is an online collection of major religion and theology journals selected by leading religion scholars and theologians. Users can read articles or research the history of a topic from 1949 to the present. Also covers religious research in related fields such as sociology, anthropology, psychology, history, medic
- Bibliography of Asian Studies Full content of the whole twenty years of the annual printed Bibliography of Asian Studies (from 1971–1991), plus citations for articles from 1992 to the present in more than 100 journals in the field of Asian studies. Contains over 590,000 references to books, journal articles, individually-authored monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc.
- Historical Abstracts Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), featuring coverage of academic historical journals in over 40 languages since 1955. Over 22,000 new abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations are added to the database annually.
Non-EBSCO databases:
- Sociological Abstracts Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes literature in the field of sociology, as well as related literature in the social and behavioral sciences. The database includes abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers, as well as citations to book reviews.
- African American Studies Center A comprehensive collection of scholarship focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Includes 7,500 articles. The core content includes Africana, which presents an account of the African and African American experience in five volumes.
- LGBTQ+ Source Contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs and books.
- Gender Studies Database Combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
News Sources
- Nexis Uni Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- Ethnic NewsWatch Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) is a collection of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. This resource includes unique community publications not found in any other database, as well as top scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Ethnic NewsWatch comprehensively covers these ethnic categories: African American/Caribbean/African Arab/Middle Eastern Asian/Pacific Islander European/Eastern European Hispanic Jewish Native People Of the more than 2.5 million articles contained in the collection, nearly a quarter are presented in Spanish; dozens of major Latino publications are featured.
Google Scholar
- Google ScholarClick the arrow to pull down the advanced search options.
