Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
A Dictionary of Chemistry
A Dictionary of Chemistry is a popular and authoritative guide to all aspects of its discipline. With over 5,000 entries, its broad coverage includes physical chemistry and biochemistry, and is heavily informed by the most current research.
A Dictionary of Physics
Updated in 2019, this is the most popular dictionary of physics available, and contains almost 4,000 entries covering all commonly encountered physics terms and concepts. The dictionary is generously illustrated with over 120 diagrams, graphs, and tables and it also contains biographies of important scientists. Appendices include SI units, the solar system, and the electromagnetic spectrum, plus a list of Nobel Prize winners and a chronology of key dates in physics.
Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology
ESST is a succinct yet authoritative on numerous topics including: green chemistry for industry, water use and recovery, crop production including genetic modification of crops, forestry and fisheries, all types of energy production, mass and personal transportation with fuel modification, power source variation, pollution control and waste disposition, recycle and disposition, urban planning and the built environment, environmental quality, epidemiology and disease prevention, and more.
How to Find & Maximize Reference Sources
Find background sources in the catalog by adding your keyword(s) to this reference-specific search:
References sources, particularly specialized encyclopedias, offer many benefits. Consider the following tips as you review a reference source on your topic to reap all the benefits and make your researching even better.
- Get definitions and background - Reference sources assume that you are new to a topic. Jargon and specialized terminology will be explained and contextualized, which you might not get in more advanced books and journal articles.
- Get caught-up on a topic - Research is a conversation, and often it's been going on for years. Reference sources will provide a historical background and identify key developments to help you understand how we got to the current understandings and theories.
- Identify key people and theories - Who are the most important people and ideas on your topic? Reference sources will help you identify them so you can explore them more deeply.
- Find more sources - Reference sources will provide additional reading, usually in the form of references or background lists. These are a great next-step in your research process.
Credo Reference: Basic Search