Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Biography Works
Historical Encyclopedia of Natural and Mathematical Sciences by
Publication Date: 2009-03-06
This 5,800-page encyclopedia surveys 100 generations of great thinkers, offering more than 2,000 detailed biographies of scientists, engineers, explorers and inventors who left their mark on the history of science and technology. This six-volume masterwork also includes 380 articles summarizing the time-line of ideas in the leading fields of science, technology, mathematics and philosophy.
The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science
From the biographies on Galileo and Dorothy Hodgkin to the discussions chronicling the change of science from simply a tool of learning to a major force in society, The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science is the most comprehensive one-volume resource on science from 1550 to the present. General concepts such as gender and science and scientific development are explored along with major time periods that had a tremendous impact on science including the Enlightenment and Globalization (post-World War II).
Biography Reference Bank
Contains biographical full-text articles, page images, abstracts and articles from magazines and journals—providing current coverage of an individual’s life and work.
Biography (Gale In Context)
Combines over 280,000 biographies from sources such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedias of World Biography, Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television, Contemporary Musicians, Historic World Leaders, Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists, Contemporary Black Biography, Religious Leaders of America, International Dictionary of Art and Artists; and many more, with full-text articles from more than 250 periodicals including American History, The Christian Century, U.S. News & World Report.
Additional Biographical Databases
This link will take you the other 23 biographical databases we subscribe to at Furman; note that some may be more useful than others depending on your subject.
Women in Science Web Resources
Use the following research guides from the Library of Congress (LOC) and American Institute of Physics to find archives, books, journal articles, historical/museum collections, and open access resources about women in science.
Library of Congress Additional Links
A curated list of web resources (websites, government cites, and research institutions' celebrations of women in science) that you can use to find out scientists of interest. If you find a source you'd like to browse, contact Paige and she can help you fill an ILL request.
Women In Science
Reference works such as encyclopedias and biographies by topic (Women in Science, Technology, Engineering, etc.) curated by the Women in Science specialist at the Library of Congress.
Women in Science Lecture Series (Univ. of Illinois Archives)
An currently ongoing lecture series of Women in Science by women in science at one of the leading research universities in the world, the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, as sponsored by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Archives.
The Conversation - Women in Science
The topic page that tags articles and writings related to women in science, history of women in science, and breaking edge discoveries by women in science.
Library Of Congress Photograph Collections
Library of Congress Photograph Archive
Search this photograph archive for primary source material on late, historical scientists or for awards/monuments/etc. Photographs have subject headings (library of congress subject headings) that can also then be searched in the Furman library catalog or in the LOC catalog for more information. Photographs can be a great way to find additional book chapters, source material, and background information.