Furman University home page
Loading...
FYW: Autism & Technology: Background
Reference Sources from the Catalog
Reference sources aren't just the Encyclopedia Britannica and Webster's Dictionary - They're a wide variety of specialized resources that can help you understand the language, theory, and background of a topic.
Some possible sources for you from the library's catalog are highlighted here.
Computer Science and Information Technology Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of Autism Spectrum DisordersComprehensive in breath and textbook in depth, the Encyclopedia of Autism Spectrum Disorders serves as a reference repository of knowledge in the field as well as a regularly updated conduit of new knowledge long before such information trickles down from research to standard textbooks.- International Handbook of Autism and Pervasive Developmental DisordersBased on a solid historical foundation of autism theory and research, this handbook integrates coverage of the broader scholarly literature with a trenchant analysis of the state of the field in nosology, etiology, assessment, and treatment.
- The Comprehensive Guide to AutismThe increased prevalence of childhood autism has resulted in rapid developments in a wide range of disciplines in recent years, though despite intensive research however, the identification of young children is difficult, the cause(s) remain unresolved and no single treatment strategy is employed. To address these issues, A Comprehensive Guide to Autism is an all embracing reference that offers analyses and discussions of contemporary issues in the field of autism.
Online Encyclopedias
A good exercise to get to know your topic is to read articles on it from a few different types of encyclopedias. You might start by searching for information in a specialized encyclopedia set. Also check out the Reference List or Works Cited in each article for more information on topic.
Find More
Find more background sources in the catalog by adding your keyword(s) to this reference-specific search:
Online Encyclopedias
- Gale EbooksGale eBooks is a Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.