Furman University home page
Loading...
HSC 401: Epidemiology: General Health Data & Statistics
Data Sets
- Data.govData.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.
- Health & the Environment - Socioeconomic Data and Applications CenterThe SEDAC Thematic Portal on Health provides information on recently released global data sets, publications, visualization, and analyses related to environmental health issues.
- Health, Nutrition & Population Data from The World BankData here cover health systems, disease prevention, reproductive health, nutrition, and population dynamics.
- Global Health Observatory Data RepositoryThe GHO data repository provides access to over 50 datasets on priority health topics worldwide.
- CDC Surveillance SystemsHomepage for the CDC's surveys for chronic diseases, behavioral risk data, health-related quality of life, cancer statistics, diabetes, maternal mortality, and other dataset tools.
Books on Data Usage
GIS and Public Health by Call Number: Gen Coll RA566 .C764 2012Basic GIS concepts and tools are explained, including ways to access and manage spatial databases. The book presents state-of-the-art methods for mapping and analyzing data on population, health events, risk factors, and health services, and for incorporating geographical knowledge into planning and policy.
Statistics
South Carolina
- S.C. DHEC Data & StatisticsHealth statistics and surveys, vital statistics, and environmental tools for South Carolina.
United States
- National Center for Health StatisticsThe Nation's principal health statistics agency, NCHS leads the way with accurate, relevant, and timely data.
- CDC Data & Statistics by TopicData and statistics from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention by topic from Aging to Workplace.
- Health, United StatesHealth, United States is an annual report on trends in health statistics, including health status, resources, expenditures, and more.
International
- World Health Organization - Data & StatisticsData and analysis related to mortality, health, sanitation, and more from around the world.
- United Nations Health StatisticsPopulation and demographics related to health from the United Nations.
- NationMasterNationMaster is a massive central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. You can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.
Books on Statistics
Basic Concepts in Statistics and Epidemiology by Call Number: Gen Coll RA409 .M33 2007Healthcare students, practitioners and researchers need a sound basis for making valid statistical inferences from health data. This book explains how probabilistic inference works along with the various ways statistical data can be described and presented.
Modern Methods for Epidemiology by Call Number: OnlineModern Methods for Epidemiology provides a concise introduction to recent development in statistical methodologies for epidemiological and biomedical researchers.
Mathematical and Statistical Estimation Approaches in Epidemiology by Call Number: OnlineThis collection of contributions presents deterministic and stochastic approaches for epidemic modelling and statistical inference of epidemiological parameters.
Social Explorer
- Social ExplorerSocial Explorer provides access to current and historical census data and demographic information and lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change. Among other documents Social Explorer includes the entire US Census from 1790 to 2010, annual updates from the American Community Survey, the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) from 1980 to 2010 and Carbon Emissions Data for 2002 from the Vulcan Project.