About this collection

Furman University Special Collections and Archives has several collections of coins, most notably the Kilburg Coin Collection and the Richard Prior Coin Collection. Over 700 coins from the Special Collections and Archives have been scanned and are available online with accompanying descriptions. The majority of the coins in this digital collection are ancient and were created during the Roman Republic and Roman Empire. There are also a number of coins which were created in the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries. These coins are predominately from European kingdoms and Latin American mints.

Resources

• Furman University Classics Department
• Furman University Special Collections and Archives
• Furman University Digital Collections Center
• Nomisma
• American Numismatics Society

Downloads

In 2019, Dr. Chiara Palladino, Assistant Professor in the Classics Department, and two undergraduate students: Rebecca Fulford and Allyson Stevens enhanced the 26 coins in the Richard Prior collection. They created robust descriptions of each coin and then identified them using the Online Coins of the Roman Empire (OCRE) website. The descriptions were converted to a Linked Open Data (LOD) format and uploaded onto Nomisma, an online database that, using LOD technology, collects coins housed in various collections worldwide, including the British Museum, Berlin, and the National Library of France. The RDF files containing this data are available for download in the links below.

• VoID RDF – Richard Prior Collection
• RDF Data Dump – Richard Prior Collection
• Tab-Delimited Text File – Richard Prior Collection