Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Background Sources
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
An illustrated collection of more than 57,000 specially written biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past.
Historical dictionary of the British and Irish Civil Wars 1637-1660
This second edition of Historical Dictionary of the British and Irish Civil Wars 1637-1660 contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 700 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, politics, and military technology, as well as descriptions of the battles of the war. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about this period in history.
The A to Z of the British and Irish Civil Wars, 1637-1660
Through a concise historical chronology and comprehensive overview, users of The A to Z of the British and Irish Civil Wars 1637-1660 will find an insightful explanation of the people, places, and events that indelibly shape the United Kingdom's seventeenth-century history. The cross-listed dictionary entries offer a complete explanation of each important aspect of the Civil Wars and their effect on the Kingdom. Also includes maps and a bibliography.
Start your search in our library catalog to discover print and digital resources