Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Employment Opportunity - Outreach Librarian:

Outreach Librarian

Job Summary

Furman University welcomes applications for the position of Outreach Librarian. We seek a candidate who offers research expertise particularly in business and economics databases, data sets, and other resources. The successful applicant will demonstrate passion and creativity in their pedagogy, advocacy, and problem-solving. A commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion will be a natural component of their work. Essential qualities include curiosity, openness, and authenticity in their interactions with students, faculty and staff colleagues, and community members. They will thrive amidst and embrace the variety of strengths, contributions, viewpoints, and work styles of their division members and other colleagues, and will easily adapt to continual shifts in the profession. 

About Us

Founded in 1826, Furman University is a selective private liberal arts university committed to helping students develop intellectually, personally, and interpersonally and providing the practical skills necessary to succeed in a rapidly-changing world. Furman faculty are exceptional teacher-scholars who mentor undergraduate students within a campus community that values and encourages diverse ideas and perspectives. Furman has an institutional commitment to embrace diversity as an implicit value and as an explicit practice in all of its endeavors. Following an inquiry into Furman’s ties to slavery, the Board of Trustees unanimously approved a series of recommendations that will help educate the community about Furman’s history and commemorate Furman’s first African American students through educational programs, statues, historical plaques, and scholarships. Several research projects and initiatives have followed from this initial inquiry, and many faculty, staff, and students have been studying and working on these issues for several years now, with institutional support.

Our recently-launched strategic vision, The Furman Advantage, promises students an individualized four-year pathway facilitated by team of mentors and infused with a rich and varied set of high-impact experiences outside the classroom that include undergraduate research, study away, internships, community-focused learning, and opportunities to engage across differences.

Furman is committed to increasing the diversity of its faculty and staff, and actively encourages applications from members of all groups underrepresented in higher education. The University aspires to create a community of people representing a multiplicity of identities including race, gender, sexual orientation, religion, spiritual belief, socioeconomic background, geographic origin, ideology, world view, and varied abilities. Several faculty interest groups have formed within these underrepresented populations including African Americans and LGBTQ+. These groups encourage interested parties to interact with them during the search process. Furman extends comprehensive benefits to domestic partners of employees.

The Furman University Libraries include the James B. Duke Library, the Sanders Science Library, and the Maxwell Music Library. The Libraries have 27 employees (14 library faculty and 13 staff) and a robust collection of electronic and print materials. The Libraries are a member of the Oberlin Group consortium of liberal arts college libraries, PASCAL (The Partnership of Academic South Carolina Libraries), and have just migrated to a shared Alma/Primo library services platform.

Furman University is located on traditional Cherokee land in Greenville, South Carolina, which is one of the fastest growing cities in the Southeast and was ranked #6 Small City in the U.S. by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine. The charming downtown features excellent restaurants, in-town parks, shops, museums, galleries, music venues, and theaters. The city also has excellent public and private schools and a vibrant international community. A 20-mile bike and running trail connects the university to Greenville and to nearby Travelers Rest, which was named one of America’s 10 best southern small towns by USA Today. The surrounding area abounds with outdoor recreational activities and has some of the most beautiful lakes, rivers, and mountains in the country. Greenville is within easy driving distance to Asheville, Atlanta, Charlotte, the Blue Ridge Mountains, and Atlantic beaches. Greenville-Spartanburg Airport runs daily flights to major cities and airline hubs.

Essential Duties

As library liaison to academic departments including Business & Accounting, Economics, and others:

  • Builds research relationships with faculty and acts as personal librarian for majors
  • Promotes and conducts course-integrated library instruction sessions and develops assignments in collaboration with faculty members
  • Creates accessible, multi-modal instructional materials such as resource guides, course guides, and tutorials
  • Shapes the collection in all its forms in conjunction with faculty
  • Promotes collections and services; keeps faculty informed of Library activities and policies

As a member of Outreach Services:

  • Attends Outreach meetings and participates in creative planning and assessment of activities and programs
  • Conducts course-integrated library instruction sessions and develops assignments in collaboration with faculty members as part of the writing program at Furman, from First Year Writing Seminars to the Writing and Research general education requirement
  • Provides research assistance to students, faculty, staff, and community members, including weekend and evening shifts
  • Builds relationships with campus centers, institutes, and student groups
  • Collaborates to train student assistants for service at the research assistance desk

As a member of the library faculty:

  • Contributes to social media, displays, and promotional events
  • Collaborates with other library divisions to evaluate resources, collections and services by compiling statistics, conducting use studies, and compiling reports
  • Attends library faculty, staff, and special meetings; serves on committees and ad-hoc groups
  • Participates in the library faculty promotion process

As a member of the university faculty:

  • Attends faculty meetings and participates in faculty governance
  • Serves on university committees
  • Serves as an academic advisor
  • May propose and teach courses such as May Experience
  • Actively pursues professional development and participation in the scholarly conversation through professional organizations, conferences, presentations, and publications
  • Advocates for the library profession as part of The Furman Advantage through high-impact practices, such as career guidance, mentoring, internships, and study away

Required Qualifications

  • Master of Library Science (and/or Information Science) from an ALA accredited library school or international equivalent.
  • Library experience, including research assistance and library instruction
  • Knowledge of research resources and emerging technologies
  • Strong communication and interpersonal skills with demonstrated experience in outreach

Preferred Qualifications

  • Experience with SpringShare products or other web authoring tools
  • Experience with business and economics research resources, databases, and data sets
  • Experience with Bloomberg terminals
  • Familiarity with accessibility best practices

Salary and Benefits

Salary commensurate with experience (minimum $53,000). Benefits include medical, dental, vision, life plans, and retirement plan (TIAA). Conference and professional development support will be a part of this position.

Application Information

Interested applicants should submit a letter of application, a curriculum vitae (CV), and a diversity statement that describes how their education, professional experience, and life experiences might contribute to a liberal arts university that includes a commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion as one of its core values.

Applicants will also be asked to submit the names and contact information for three professional references. Transcript requests and background checks will be conducted in the final stage of the hiring process.

Review of applications will begin on: June 15, 2021

Questions?

Contact Libby Young, Chair of the Search Committee: libby.young@furman.edu

How to Apply

Please follow these instructions to ensure your application is received successfully:

  1. Go to Furman's Employment Website and select "Apply". Create an account.
  1. Have all the required documents ready before you begin the application process. You cannot save your progress once you have started. If the process times out, you will lose your entire application. Required documents are:
    1. Cover letter
    2. Curriculum vitae/resume
  1. On the Quick Apply page, upload your CV/resume and the system will extract content to auto-populate many of the fields in the application form.
  1. On the My Information page, confirm your contact information is correct.
  1. On the My Experience page, do the following:
    1. Confirm that the "Work Experience" and "Education" were correctly extracted from your CV/resume especially the "Role Description" fields. Correct any problems.
    2. In the "Field of Study" drop-down, type in your field (e.g. "Library Science") rather than scrolling through the drop-down list which is incomplete. If you have a degree with no field of study, type "None".
    3. The "Resume/CV" section is where you will upload your cover letter. Your CV/resume should already be uploaded to this section from earlier. Select "Upload" and add your cover letter. Please wait for the document to finish uploading before clicking "Next".
  1. On the Application Questions page, provide contact information for your references.
  1. On the Review page, ensure your information is correct and you have uploaded all required documents. You can make changes by hitting "Back" and "Next". If multiple pages require changes, make changes to the earlier pages first and the later pages last.

Once submitted, you will not be able to edit your application other than to change your contact information.