Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fall library services

Furman University home page

Audio/Video Digital Conversion Policy:

Guidelines

The Digital Collections Center has the equipment to convert physical audio/video materials like VHS, cassette tapes, and DVDs into digital files. When we receive a request to convert physical audio/video materials to digital files, we follow this process:

  1. If the material is currently available for purchase in streaming or other online formats, the Library can purchase it and make it available through the Library catalog.
  2. If the material is part of the Library's Collection, but is not currently available for purchase in streaming or other online formats, the Digital Collections Center will only legally convert it to a digital file if the Library has written consent from the copyright holder.
  3. If the material is not part of the Library's Collection, and is not currently available for purchase in streaming or other online formats, the Digital Collections Center will only legally convert it to a digital file if the Library has written consent from the copyright holder and the digital format will be used to support instruction at Furman University or will be included in an approved digital collection.

 

Note: Physical audio/video materials that are produced and/or related to Furman University may be retained in Special Collections and Archives for preservation purposes.

 

Digitizing Media

2020 Digitization of Media Policy

Because of the need to make resources available to students who are participating in classes remotely, the Library has developed a procedure for making film and other media available in a online format. 

Faculty may request video resources in an online format by using this form. The Library will seek to purchase the resource in a streaming format. If streaming is unavailable, the Library will digitize a library-owned physical  copy or purchase a new physical copy to digitize. The  digitized copy will be uploaded to Box with a Word copy of our copyright statement/usage restrictions to this folder. The folder and its contents will only be available for individual classes; will be password protected; and the content will be non-downloadable. The Box folder will expire on at the end of the semester, 2020.

This is a temporary policy. Newly purchased videos will be cataloged and the physical copy of the film will be available after the fall semester.

Contact Information

We are generally available 9:00am - 4:00pm, Monday through Friday. Please don't hesitate to contact us.

E-mail: digitalcollections@furman.edu

Phone Number: 864-294-3505

What is protected by Copyright?

Copyright protection exists in original works of authorship fixed in any tangible medium of expression. The two key phrases here are "original works" and "fixed". The creativity level required for originality is very low - a "spark" - but is required, no matter how much effort was required to create the work.

Works of authorship include the following categories:

  1. literary works;
  2. musical works, including any accompanying words;
  3. dramatic works, including any accompanying music;
  4. pantomimes and choreographic works;
  5. pictorial, graphic, and sculptural works;
  6. motion pictures and other audiovisual works;
  7. sound recordings; and
  8. architectural works.

17 U.S.C. § 102