Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fall library services

Furman University home page

Faculty Guide to Library Resources and Services During COVID-19 Pandemic: Electronic Textbooks and other Resources - Free during pandemic

Textbooks - VitalSource

Sign-up/Login: https://bookshelf.vitalsource.com/#/user/signin

VitalSource, along with more than 100 publishers and retailers announced a program this morning to provide access to more than 55,000 titles used in higher education for displaced students and faculty.

Main info page is: get.vitalsource.com/vitalsource-helps.

Press release

CENGAGE

Cengage Higher Ed: has established a resource page  to help locate your Cengage representative to enable free access to the following resources:

  • Free Access to Cengage Unlimited: We will be providing free access to our entire catalog - all of our online learning platforms and eTexts - through Cengage Unlimited, through end of term, to any student in any class at any US college that has been impacted by COVID-19.
  • Support Transition to Online: We will complement that offering with services and resources to back up educators as they change the way they teach.
  • Free Access to eBooks: As part of our mission to help as many students as we can, we are also participating in free eBook access programs being offered by our partners VitalSource and RedShelf. 

Internet Archive - free during Pandemic

You can browse and borrow from the collection at archive.org/nel 

The Internet Archive announces: As of today, March 24, 2020, the Internet Archive will suspend waitlists for the 1.4 million (and growing) books in our lending library by creating a National Emergency Library to serve the nation’s displaced learners. This suspension will run through June 30, 2020, or the end of the US national emergency, whichever is later,  to meet students’ and readers’ needs while schools and libraries are closed at global scale.

This library brings together all the books from Phillips Academy Andover and Marygrove College, and much of Trent University’s collections, along with over a million other books donated from other libraries to readers worldwide that are locked out of their libraries.

Read more at: blog.archive.org/2020/03/24/ann…

Our books portal, Open Library, offers ways to search by genre, author and more.  https://openlibrary.org/

Almost 200 institutions and individuals have endorsed this effort.  You can join them in endorsing here.

We've tried to address your FAQs here.

For more information or to join a webinar about these efforts, contact chrisfreeland@archive.org

Wiley

Free access to COVID-19 research resources:  Wiley has made more than 5,000 COVID-19-related articles freely available in support of the global efforts in diagnosis, treatment, and prevention. As always, you can access our Wiley Online Library Training hub should you need any tips on the platform.

  • Free, real-time feed of the latest research and news on COVID-19 from Scitrus, powered by Atypon's AI-driven personalized discovery application.

Oxford

OUP has made content from online resources and leading journals freely accessible to assist researchers, medical professionals, policy makers, and others working to address the coronavirus situation.

Vendors offering free resources - abridged