Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fall library services

Furman University home page

Faculty Guide to Library Resources and Services During COVID-19 Pandemic: Request Digital Texts and Videos for Course

A Note on Copyright

In order to better support remote student access to class materials, we are digitizing many of those materials under the Fair Use provision of the Copyright Act. To avoid copyright violations, any materials digitized by the library or by the faculty must be restricted to class members only and must be removed from Box and/or Moodle no later than May 5, 2020. See instructions below.

Let's Get Digital

Please complete the Digitization Request Form below. This form may be used for texts or videos. Once you have submitted the form, we will check for freely-available electronic versions. If we cannot access an electronic version, we will try to digitize the item for you.​

Digitized items will be uploaded to Box, and the faculty member will be notified via email when they are available. 

Have questions? Need help? Please work with your liaison librarian. We can help guide you through this process.

 

Limiting Access to Files in Box

How to Disable a Shared Link on Box folders.

This option will keep the Box folder intact, but will disable access to the shared link after a certain date.

  1. On the Box website click the “Share” option to the right of the folder
  2. In the pop-up box, enable the “Shared Link” option
  3. Select the “Link Settings” option
  4. Select the little check box next to “Disable Shared Link on”
  5. Enter the date that you want the Shared Link to expire.
  6. Add the desired e-mail addresses in the “Invite People” box
  7. Select “Send”

How to Auto-Delete a Folder in Box

This will delete a Box folder and all its contents on a certain day.

  1. On the Box website, click the 3 dots to the right of the folder
  2. Select “Settings”
  3. On the Settings page, scroll down to “Automated Actions”
  4. Click the little check box next to the “Delete or Unshare” option
  5. Enter the date that you want to auto-delete the folder
  6. Select “Save Changes” in the top right of the screen