Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fall library services

Furman University home page

Faculty Guide to Library Resources and Services During COVID-19 Pandemic: Accessing Resources Off-Campus

Using databases off campus

Access databases by clicking on them from the library website, which will serve as your portal to all content provided by the libraries. (Instead of doing a Google search for a database by name, which will not associate you with Furman.) From off campus, you will be asked to log in using your Furman ID and password.

Adding Links to Library Resources In Moodle

You can link to library resources in Moodle by adding a URL Resource to a Course Page or adding a hyperlink to text on a page. Below you will see examples of the best ways to link to our content, so your links won't break.

Permalinks

Permalinks, or permanent links, ensure that someone will go to the webpage, database, article, or library record that you intend for them to visit. It's safer to copy the permalink than the URL in the address bar because address bar URLs can change whereas permalinks do not. 

Look for the orange arrows in the sections below to see how to locate the permalink for a library catalog record or database. 

Library Catalog Links

Link to materials in the online library catalog (eBooks, streaming film, etc.) using the link provided and labeled "Permalink" as the link you click on might change.

Linking to an article in a database

Use the permalink to direct students to an article in a database, instead of downloading and uploading the PDF.

Link to a database

From the All Databases page, you can use the share icon to find a permalink to each database. Use this instead of what appears in your URL bar.

Troubleshooting Electronic Resources

If you are having trouble accessing any electronic resource from off campus, please try the following:

  1. Make sure that the URL begins with the correct (new) proxy prefix: https://login.libproxy.furman.edu/login?auth=shib&url=
  2. Try opening the URL in a different browser.

If neither of these work, or if they don’t seem to apply to your situation, please contact Rebekah Ostini (rebekah.ostini@furman.edu) for assistance.

Simultaneous User Limits

Films on Demand - no limit

PASCAL ebooks - no limit