Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Furman Library Catalog
Consider searching the online catalog for the following subject search:
Speeches, addresses, etc., American --
Search PASCALCAT for books to be delivered by courier
Search PASCAL Catalog
The courier runs 3 days a week. When your book arrives, you will receive an email. You can pick up your book at the Circulation Desk in the main library. This service is free. It typically takes less than a week for books to arrive. Be sure not to order books we already have here in the library. You may, however, use this to order copies of books we DO have, but which are currently checked out or missing.
Books to Order on Interlibrary Loan...
Use WorldCat to find books available from other libraries around the world. Use the FULLTEXT? button and then the "request this from another library" option to navigate to the ILL request form. Books have to be mailed here, so it may take over a week. This service is free. (Be sure not to order a book we already have here at Furman.)
Perform an advanced search on WorldCat, the global catalog of library collections that lets you find what you want in a library near you.
Deeper Indexing of Books
Essay & General Literature Index
Indexes "essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. More than 300 volumes are indexed annually. Additionally, more than 20 annuals and serial publications such as Proceedings of the American Antiquarian Society, The Supreme Court Review, Dickens Studies Annual, and Anglo-Saxon England are indexed. 1985 to the present.
ACLS Humanities E-Books
A digital collection of 2,200 full-text titles offered by the American Council of Learned Societies in collaboration with fourteen learned societies, nearly 100 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan’s Scholarly Publishing Office. Fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars.
Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO)
Full text of core scholarly books published by Oxford University Press in four subject areas: Religion, Philosophy, History, and Classics. Abstracts and and keywords are available for other collections.
You will be prompted to log-in to the Furman Library Proxy server when accessing Ebook Central. Your Furman network username and password are your credentials. EASY!!