Furman University home page
Loading...
FYW: Sustainable Furman: Articles
Recommended Databases
Interdisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is an interdisciplinary database, covering a broad range of subjects. It contains indexing for 8,172 publications, with full text for nearly 4,700 of those titles.
- CQ ResearcherGood place to begin research on current topics. Covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more. Updated weekly.
- Global Issues (Gale In Context)Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Provides sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.
Discipline Specific Databases
- Environmental Studies (Gale In Context)The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Covers energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development.
- GreenFileGreenFile offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative, multidisciplinary content covering more than 15,000 journals is available through this search of Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers 1900 - Present.
- Business Source CompleteBusiness Source Complete contains the full text of periodicals and other sources, including: peer-reviewed journals, trade journals & general business magazines, monographs, country economic reports, industry reports & yearbooks, and market research reports. The database covers a variety of disciplines related to all areas of business.
- Sociological AbstractsSociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes literature in the field of sociology, as well as related literature in the social and behavioral sciences. The database includes abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers, as well as citations to book reviews.
Find more disciplines, databases, and resource types available from the University Libraries on our all databases list:
Popular VS. Scholarly
This very good video from CSUCB's Pfau Library will help explain the difference between scholarly and popular articles and how to tell which you are looking at.
Retrieving Full Text Articles from a Database
Full-text articles are available online and in print. Here are the various ways to get to full text articles available from the Furman Libraries.
- If you are looking at the article citation in a database, look for a PDF icon or the "FUll Text?" icon. Clicking on the "FUll Text?" icon will automatically start the search process below looking just for that one article.
- If the full text is available online, you will be provided with a link to the correct database. Often this will take you directly to the article.
**Note: There is often more than one Full Text from . . . link. While any of the links should take you to the article, it is best practice to start from the top and work your way down the list.
- Some articles - particularly in the sciences and psychology - may be found in a resource called ScienceDirect. If it is, the option to "Request full-text from Get it Now (for students and others without a ScienceDirect account)" will appear. Follow this link and use your Furman email address (@furman.edu) to complete the request.
- If we don't have it online, Interlibrary Loan will get a copy from another library or from our print collection. Clicking this link will populate a request form with the citation information for this article once you login to your account. You must have or create an ILLiad account to use this feature.
