Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Student Advisory Group: 14-15 Home

Library Student Advisory Group Charge

The charge of the Library Student Advisory Group (LSAG) is to:

  • Give the Library feedback when we need a student perspective;
  • Serve as a focus group for discussion of library issues;
  • Bring student needs and concerns to the Library’s attention and participate in discussions on how to respond to these needs (advocating for students);
  • Help bring Library concerns to the attention of students (advocating for the Library);
  • Offer suggestions for new programs and services, and;
  • Help the Library to identify more effective approaches to communicating information to students

Note: Mention of the “Library” includes the three campus libraries—the James B. Duke Library, the Maxwell Music Library and the Sanders Science Library.

Composition of the Group:

 Student members of the Library Committee
 Student representatives from each academic divisionFine Arts, Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences
 Student representative from SGA (the Student Government Association)
 International student representative  Library student assistant representative

The group will meets twice a semester. The meetings are held at dinnertime and dinner is provided. The Director and Assistant Directors attend. Other members of the library staff and faculty may attend depending on the topic for discussion.

LSAG Agendas

2014-2015 LSAG Committee


Library Student Advisory Group Members 2014-2015

Sam Kleine – Senior, Music

Tre Wheat – Junior, Biology

Chelsey Dawson – Sophomore, Philosophy

Drew Kern – Sophomore, Neuroscience

Ann Downs – Junior, Biology and History (Faculty Library Comm. Rep.)

Alex Pumphrey – Senior, German and Religion (Faculty Library Comm. Rep.)

Austin Pretsch – Sophomore, Computer Science

Brooks Musangu – Sophomore, Physics and Mathematics

Tien Hoang – Sophomore, Accounting

Library Leadership Council (Library Administration)

Dr. Janis Bandelin, Director of Libraries

Dr. Caroline Mills, Assistant Director for Collection Services

Christy Allen, Assistant Director for Discovery Services

Jenny Colvin, Assistant Director for Outreach Services