Furman University home page
Loading...
FYW: Writing Nature & Reimagining the World: Primary Sources
Historical Newspapers and Other Periodicals
- British Periodicals I,II,III, and IVTraces the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals' and beyond. Consists of more than 460 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s, comprising more than two centuries of British history and culture.
- Times Digital Archive [London] 1785-1985 Full ImageFull-image online archive of every page published by The Times [London]. The archive covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. Provides the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials and advertising.
- Proquest Historical NewspapersSearches multiple historical newspapers, including the Atlanta Constitution, L.A. Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, Christian Science Monitor, and more.
- America’s Historical NewspapersProvides access to early American newspapers from 1690 to1922. Offers over 2000 searchable historical American newspapers. Focuses largely on the 18th and early 19th century newspapers from all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Also includes African American newspapers from 1827 to 1998.
Find more
To potentially find primary sources such as letters and diaries of a person, put your person's name in the search widget below.
Library Of Congress Photograph Collections
- Library of Congress Photograph ArchiveSearch this photograph archive for primary source material on late, historical scientists or for awards/monuments/etc. Photographs have subject headings (library of congress subject headings) that can also then be searched in the Furman library catalog or in the LOC catalog for more information. Photographs can be a great way to find additional book chapters, source material, and background information.