It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest -----------------------
Title : Jewels of Queen Hetepheres: pendant, Old Kingdom, Dynasty IV Caption : Egyptian civilization, Old Kingdom, Dynasty IV. Goldsmithery. Jewels of Queen Hetepheres: pendant. Credit : De Agostini Picture Library \ Universal Images Group
Scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. Iincludes the full text of The Dictionary of Art, containing more than 45,000 articles (more than 21,000 biographies and 500,000 bibliographical citations). Also includes images of the most frequently studied works of art.
Provides in-depth coverage of Western Art with entries on artists and their works, styles and movements, art forms and art terms, combined with more modern methodologies, focused on patronage, taste, theory, and criticism, and the scientific examination of materials and techniques.
The Oxford Classical Dictionary contains many thematic entries on subjects relevant to the 21st century such as nationalism, race, gender, and ecology. Anthropology and reception have been added as new subject areas, covering topics such as creolization and kinship, as well as dance reception and translation.
Addresses the social, political, religious, cultural and artistic legacy of this 5,000-year civilization. Covers the predynastic era to its eclipse in the seventh century CE. Provides information on art, architecture, religion, language, literature, trade, politics, everyday social life and the culture of the court.
Offers an overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. Also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries. Includes nearly eleven hundred articles, conveying the significance of the people, places, and historical events of classical antiquity, together with its intellectual and material culture.
The full text of the most current edition of the Encyclopedias Britannica, fully searchable, and with additional features such as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and an Internet Guide with web sites which have been evaluated by the editors of the Britannica.