Furman University home page
Loading...
FYW: SC: Present and Past: Current Newspapers
Individual Titles
- Greenville NewsThe Greenville News is a daily newspaper published in Greenville, South Carolina. This database includes issues going back to 1999 as well as current local articles.
- State, TheThe State is the largest newspaper in South Carolina. It provides local, national, and international news, with comprehensive coverage of the South Carolina General Assembly and state agencies. Other areas of particular emphasis included education, the environment, technology, and tourism. Local major educational institutions are the University of South Carolina, Columbia College, and S.C. State University.
- Charleston Post & Courier1994-present
- Chronicle of Higher EducationUpdated daily and full new edition weekly.
New York Times and Wall Street Journal: Current/Historical
The New York Times and Wall Street Journal do not allow libraries to have browsable online subscriptions. However, Factiva lets you see the front page articles of these and other papers each day. When you go to Factiva, chose "News Pages" and then "Factiva Pages" to see a list of front page stories and links to other sections of the papers.
- Factiva Access to more than 6,000 business, trade, and general publications and services, including same-day, full-text access to The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, Financial Times, Los Angeles times and the Washington Post. Company and industry comparisons. Includes Reuters News Service reports. At least 150 dailies are available by 9:00 A.M. on day of issue. Limited to six seats.
Several of our databases search within The New York Times and Wall Street Journal, as well as other major papers. Recent dates are covered.
- Nexis Uni Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- News (Gale OneFile) InfoTrac Newsstand is a full-text newspaper database. You can search for articles by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields.
The Historical Newspaper series of databases archives The New York Times and Wall Street Journal in a scanned format. This allows you to see the pages as they were originally printed, including ads. NYT coverage is 1851-2013 and WSJ coverage is 1899-1999. Furman subscribes to over a dozen other papers through the Proquest Historical Newspaper Series.
- New York Times Historical Full Image from 1851 Searchable full image of every page of the New York Daily Times and New York Times including all advertisements.
- Wall Street Journal Historical Searchable full image of every page of the Wall Street Journal including all advertisements. Coverage begins with 1889 and continues to an 8-year moving wall.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers Simultaneously search more than fifty major historical American and Canadian newspapers, including the largest circulating African-American newspapers.
Search News via Nexis Uni
Multiple Titles
- Access World News Research CollectionFind diverse global, local, regional, and national perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, and web-only content. Also included are the following Access Modules: Business News, U.S. Newswires, Military, Government, and Defense, and Acceda Noticias. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.
- Nexis UniNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- FactivaAccess to more than 6,000 business, trade, and general publications and services, including same-day, full-text access to The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, Financial Times, Los Angeles times and the Washington Post. Company and industry comparisons. Includes Reuters News Service reports. At least 150 dailies are available by 9:00 A.M. on day of issue. Limited to six seats.
- Newspaper Source PlusContains more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, providing more than 38 million full-text articles. Includes full text for major newspapers such as the Christian Science Monitor, San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC) and others.
- News (Gale OneFile)InfoTrac Newsstand is a full-text newspaper database. You can search for articles by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields.
- AP NewsMonitor CollectionProvides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press on a continuous basis. This collection includes AP Top News, WorldStream, Financial News, AP Online, U.S. Politics & Government and 50 State Reports. The index to the full text content in AP News is held for a rolling 30-day archive, so users can enjoy the previous 30 days of news relating to their search interests.
- South Carolina NewspapersIncludes AP wire coverage for metropolitan areas.
- Freedom Forum (formerly Newseum)Today's Front Pages