American Song is a history database containing 50,000 tracks that allow people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.
50,000 tracks of music from more than 1,048 albums, spanning more than a hundred years.
A fully searchable classical music resource—a comprehensive database of distinguished classical recordings. Includes tens of thousands of licensed recordings that can be listened to over the Internet. The audio selections are cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information. Selections range from the earliest Gregorian chants to works by modern composers—including symphonic music, vocal and instrumental music, choral works, and other forms.
Covers Medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas, and the avant-garde.
Delivers the sounds of regions from every continent. Contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
Provides CD quality audio, complete and original liner notes and essays from New World Records, Composers Recordings, Inc. (CRI) and other labels. DRAM offers streaming access to complete works. The basis for the current collection is the catalog of American music recordings by New World Records. Covers folk to opera, Native American to jazz, 19th century classical to early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic and beyond.
Medici.tv offers over 1,000 programs available on streaming VOD. This resource includes filmed concerts by current performers in classical music and documentaries on performers and composers. In addition, the catalog contains educational programs and master classes.
A mobile device application for this resource is available at: https://itunes.apple.com/fr/app/medici.tv/id376813468?mt=8
Naxos Music Library is one of the world´s largest online classical music libraries. Offers streaming access to more than 46,000 CDs with more than 653,000 tracks, standard and rare repertoire.
Please note that we have limited simultaneous users.
A virtual Encyclopedias of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection is an outgrowth of the vision and work of Folkways Records’ founder Moses Asch, who created a veritable Encyclopedias of the human experience of sound, releasing more than 2,000 albums between 1948 and 1986, including those by American folk icons such as Woody Guthrie, Lead Belly, Pete Seeger, and countless influential others.
How to Find the Maxwell Music Library
The Maxwell Music Library is located in the Herring Music Pavilion, shown on the campus map.