- Overland Journeys: Travels in the West, 1800-1880
Comprised of selections from the microfilm collections Travels in the West and Southwest and the Plains & Rockies, this digital collection provides a unique window on Western History. Selections are based on the bibliographies, The Plains and Rockies: A Critical Bibliography of Exploration, Adventure, and Travel in the American West, 1800-1865, and The Trail West: A Bibliography-Index to Western American Trails, 1841-1869.
- Oxford Book of Health Foods
From fruits, herbs, and grains to vitamins, minerals, and dietary supplements, this resource offers not only the claims associated with each food, but also the scientific truths behind these claims.
- Oxford Business Dictionary French Dictionary (French-English)
he Oxford Business French Dictionary offers comprehensive coverage of core business vocabulary from a wide range of fields, including accountancy, banking, economics, human resource management, law, sales and marketing, the stock market, management, taxation, insurance, and information technology.
- Oxford Business French Dictionary (English-French)
The Oxford Business French Dictionary offers comprehensive coverage of core business vocabulary from a wide range of fields, including accountancy, banking, economics, human resource management, law, sales and marketing, the stock market, management, taxation, insurance, and information technology.
- Oxford Business Spanish Dictionary (English-Spanish)
The Oxford Business Spanish Dictionary offers comprehensive coverage of core business vocabulary from a wide range of fields, including accountancy, banking, economics, human resource management, law, sales and marketing, the stock market, management, taxation, insurance, and information technology.
- Oxford Business Spanish Dictionary (Spanish-English)
The Oxford Business Spanish Dictionary offers comprehensive coverage of core business vocabulary from a wide range of fields, including accountancy, banking, economics, human resource management, law, sales and marketing, the stock market, management, taxation, insurance, and information technology.
- Oxford Classical Dictionary 3rd ed.
Includes over 6,200 entries covering all aspects of the Graeco-Roman world. Provides reference coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity.
- Oxford Classical Dictionary 4th ed.
The Oxford Classical Dictionary contains many thematic entries on subjects relevant to the 21st century such as nationalism, race, gender, and ecology. Anthropology and reception have been added as new subject areas, covering topics such as creolization and kinship, as well as dance reception and translation.
- Oxford Companion to American Law
The Oxford Companion to American Law takes as its starting point the insight that law is embedded in society, and that to understand American law one must necessarily ask questions about the relationship between it and the social order, now and in the past. Nearly 500 entries are included, written by over 300 expert contributors.
- Oxford Companion to American Literature
There are over 2,000 biographical profiles of important American authors (with information regarding their style, subjects, and major works) and influential foreign writers as well as other figures who have been important in the nation's social and cultural history in this Companion. There are more than 1,100 full summaries of important American novels, stories, essays, poems (with verse form noted), plays, biographies and autobiographies, tracts, narratives, and histories.
- Oxford Companion to American Military History
Ranging from brief factual pieces to extensive essays, the entries examine every major war from the Revolution to the Persian Gulf; important battles from Bunker Hill, to the Alamo, Gettysburg, Little Bighorn, Normandy, and Khe Sanh; and military leaders from Washington to Grant, Lee, Eisenhower, MacArthur, Westmoreland, and Schwarzkopf.
- Oxford Companion to American Politics
Provides detailed, in-depth coverage of all aspects of American politics. Covers such topics as climate change, terrorism, welfare policies, nuclear proliferation, voting behavior, and think tanks.
- Oxford Companion to American Theatre
Oxford Companion to American Theater is the standard one-volume source on American theater. This distinguished volume provides an up-to-date guide to the American stage from its beginnings to the present. The volume includes playwrights, plays, actors, directors, producers, songwriters, famous playhouses, dramatic movements, and much more.
- Oxford Companion to Archaeology
Provides entries on a range of subjects, including engaging biographies of the great figures in the field, extensive coverage of the methods used in archaeological research, together with essays that examine human evolution and the many general facets of culture.
- Oxford Companion to Archaeology 2nd ed.
In close to 800 entries, this second edition provides thorough coverage of historical archaeology, the development of archaeology as a field of study, and the ways the discipline works to explain the past.
- Oxford Companion to Architecture
Contains over 1500 entries covering all aspects of architecture, from architects, building types, and movements and styles to materials, aspects of design, and definitions. Covers of architecture around the world, and of modern and vernacular architecture. Addresses the social, technical, and practical aspects of architecture, as well as from an art-historical perspective.
- Oxford Companion to Australian History
Covers people, institutions, and events that have shaped Australian society, politics and culture. There are entries on politicians, colonisers, visionaries, newspaper barons, industrialists, explorers, writers, artists, and scientists. There are numerous extended essays on key facets of the nation's life — political, social, cultural, scientific, military, and economic.
- Oxford Companion to Australian Literature
The Oxford Companion to Australian Literature offers a comprehensive record of Australian writing from European settlement to the early 1990s. The Companion contains entries on writers, plays, novels, poems, newspapers, journals, anthologies, literary prizes, movements, and professional organizations
- Oxford Companion to Australian Military History
Provides entries on the history of the Australian military, including new entries on topics that were omitted from the first edition, either because they did not seem to warrant inclusion or simply because they were overlooked and other entries that have assumed a new significance in the light of military developments since 1995.
- Oxford Companion to Australian Politics
The Oxford Companion to Australian Politics is the first scholarly and comprehensive account of Australian political life and thought that gives attention to all aspects of national politics and to Australian politics in regional, international and global contexts.
- Oxford Companion to Beer
Oxford Companion to Beer features more than 1,100 A-Z entries written by 166 of the world's most prominent beer experts. Attractively illustrated with over 140 images, the work covers everything from the agricultural makeup of various beers to the technical elements of the brewing process, local effects of brewing on regions around the world, and the social and political implications of sharing a beer.
- Oxford Companion to Black British History
Explores the subject from its beginnings in Roman times to the present day. Key concepts such as Emancipation and Reparations are examined, while a unique collection of articles are brought together to provide readers with a comprehensive overview of the black presence in Britain, and the rich and diverse contribution it has made to British society.
- Oxford Companion to British History
Covers all aspects of the history of Britain from 55 BC to the present day. The entries provide a wealth of information touching all aspects of British history: political, economic, social, military, people, events, and institutions.
- Oxford Companion to Canadian History
From the Norse to Nunavut, The Oxford Companion to Canadian History provides a guide to the significant events, issues, institutions, places, and people that have shaped Canada from earliest times to the present.
- Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature
The Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature has been thoroughly updated with new entries on writers, books, and extended entries on established authors. Entries cover fiction, prose, poetry, drama, prominent writers, literary magazines, publishers, and more general topics.
- Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization
Provides an survey of the Greek and Roman worlds in all their aspects, and offers articles on diverse fields such as, history and politics; ethics and morals; law and punishment; social and family life; language, literature, and art; religion and mythology; technology, science, and medicine.
- Oxford Companion to Classical Literature
Presents the reader with all the essential facts about the authors, tales, and characters from ancient myth and literature. It also places these details in the wider contexts of the history and society of the Greek and Roman worlds.
- Oxford Companion to Comparative Politics
Focuses on the major theories, concepts, and conclusions that define the field, analyzing the similarities and differences between political units. Entries cover such topics as failed states, grand strategies, soft power, capital punishment, gender and politics, and totalitarianism, as well as countries such as China and Afghanistan.
- Oxford Companion to Consciousness
Surveys the contemporary research on consciousness. It also offers contributions from philosophy of mind to neuroscience, from experimental psychology to clinical findings, so reflecting the profoundly interdisciplinary nature of the domain.
- Oxford Companion to Cosmology
Subjects covered include the structure of the universe, the evolution of galaxies, galaxy clusters, and cold dark matter. It deals with both theoretical ideas, such as alternative cosmologies, as well as the various types of observational evidence, including redshift surveys and cosmic microwave background radiation.
- Oxford Companion to English Literature
he Oxford Companion to English Literature has long been established as the leading reference resource for students, teachers, scholars, and general readers of English literature. It provides coverage of all aspects of English literature ― from writers, their works, and the historical and cultural context in which they wrote, to critics, literary theory, and allusions.
- Oxford Companion to Family and Local History
The Oxford Companion to Family and Local History is the most comprehensive and authoritative guide available to all things associated with the family and local history of the British Isles.It provides practical and contextual information for anyone inquiring into their English, Irish, Scottish, or Welsh origins and for anyone working in genealogical research, or the social history of the British Isles.
- Oxford Companion to Global Change
This Companion is a guide to the range of issues surrounding natural and human-induced changes in the Earth's environment. The Companion brings together current knowledge about the relations between technological, social, demographic, economic, and political factors as well as biological, chemical, and physical systems.
- Oxford Companion to Irish History
Entries explore Irish history from earliest times to the early 21st century.
- Oxford Companion to Medicine
More than 200 authors have contributed over 500 substantial articles and many more shorter ones, on topics ranging from abortion to zombification. All the major medical and nursing specialities are covered, and detailed attention is given to complementary therapies, national medical systems, and the historical development of medicine. This new edition has been completely rewritten and includes a greater emphasis on the history of medicine, its cultural links with the arts and music, and its international nature.
- Oxford Companion to Military History
The Oxford Companion to Military History is an essential guide to how the world has been shaped by conflict. Entries on key topics such as intelligence, propaganda, tactics, women in the military, and peacekeeping are included, with over 70 maps showing the course of famous battles and campaigns.
- Oxford Companion to Music
This classic reference work includes articles that range from clear, concise definitions of musical ideas and terms to extended surveys of musical forms and styles, with specialist coverage of virtually every musical subject.
- Oxford Companion to New Zealand Literature
This Companion offers a comprehensive record of New Zealand writing in easily accessible form. It contains more than 1,500 entries on writers, novels, plays, poetry, journals, periodicals, anthologies, literary movements, and professional organisations.
- Oxford Companion to Philosophy
It gives clear and reliable guidance to all areas of philosophy and to the ideas of all notable philosophers from antiquity to the present day. The second edition has been considerably revised and updated, and includes 300 new articles on current topics, such as animal consciousness, cloning, corporate responsibility, the family, globalization, and terrorism.
- Oxford Companion to Scottish History
Covers more than 20 centuries of history, including areas such as archaeology, climate, culture, languages, immigration, migration, and emigration.
- Oxford Companion to Shakespeare
From the conjectured identity of the Dark Lady of the Sonnets to the misprints in the First Folio, from Shakespeare's favourite figures of speech to the staging of Othello in South Africa, a team of 100 internationally renowned scholars provides a lucid, stimulating, and authoritative guide to Shakespeare's plays and poems, and their interpretation around the world over the last four centuries.
- Oxford Companion to Ships and the Sea
Covers every aspect of the seas and the vessels that sail on them, from shipbuilding, yachting, diving, and marine mammals, to tidal power, piracy, and the literature and language of the sea.
- Oxford Companion to the American Musical
This guide offers a wealth of information on musicals, performers, composers, lyricists, producers, choreographers, and much more. The plays and films covered range from modern hits like Mamma Mia! and Moulin Rouge! to timeless classics such as Yankee Doodle Dandy and Show Boat. Also, numerous musicals written specifically for television appear throughout, and many entries follow a work - Babes in Toyland for example - as it moves across genres, from stage, to film, to television.
- Oxford Companion to the Bible
Ranging far beyond the scope of a traditional Bible dictionary, the Companion features, in addition to its many informative, factual entries, an abundance of interpretive essays. Here are extended entries on religious concepts from immortality, sin, and grace, to baptism, ethics, and the Holy Spirit. The contributors also explore biblical views of modern issues such as homosexuality, marriage, and anti-Semitism, and the impact of the Bible on the secular world (including a four-part article on the Bible's influence on literature).
- Oxford Companion to the Body
Provides accounts of the structure and function of all the major systems of the body and the causes of disorders that affect them. Interwoven with this coverage of the science of the body, are entertaining and informative articles on social and religious attitudes to the body, and its significance for artists, philosophers and writers.
- Oxford Companion to the Book
Work of reference, covering the book throughout the world from ancient to modern times. Includes traditional subjects such as bibliography, palaeography, the history of printing, editorial theory and practice, textual criticism, book collecting, and libraries, and also engages with newer disciplines such as the history of the book and the electronic book. Pays particular attention to how different societies shape books and how books shape societies.
- Oxford Companion to the Brontes
The Oxford Companion to the Brontes provides comprehensive, authoritative, and up-to-date information on the lives, works, and afterlives of the three Bronte sisters.
- Oxford Companion to the Earth
Offers coverage of the Earth Sciences, from volcanoes to flood plains, diamonds to meteors, deserts to deep seas. All aspects of geology, including climatology, mineralogy, and oceanography, are covered.
- Oxford Companion to the Garden
Combines a survey of the world's gardens with articles on a range of topics, such as garden visiting, horticulture, scientific issues, and the social history of gardens, as well as biographies of garden designers, nurserymen, and others.
- Oxford Companion to the High Court of Australia
This Companion examines the High Court of Australia’s public work, the Court’s role in Australian law, politics and society, and the Court’s inner workings. Containing 435 cross-referenced entries, the Companion’s broad treatment of topics gives a scope beyond the professional concerns of legal practice.
- Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science
Focusing on the period from the Renaissance to the early twenty-first century, the articles cover all disciplines, historical periods, concepts, and methodologies and philosophies. Coverage is international, tracing the spread of science from its traditional centers and explaining how the prevailing knowledge of non-Western societies has modified or contributed to the dominant global science as it is currently understood. One hundred biographies of the most iconic historic figures, chosen for their contributions to science and the interest of their lives, are also included.
- Oxford Companion to the Mind
The Oxford Companion to the Mind is a guide to the mysteries — and idiosyncrasies — of the human mind. It includes discussions of concepts such as language, memory, and intelligence, side by side with witty definitions of common human experiences. In all there are 300 contributors from the world's leading scholars.
- Oxford Companion to the Photograph
Providing a wide range of technical information, the Companion also presents the mass of recent scholarship on photography as a social and artistic practice. There are over 800 biographical entries, both on photographers and on others who have influenced photographic culture from the 19th century to the present.
- Oxford Companion to the Politics of the World
It includes biographies of Kofi Annan, Tony Blair, Bill Clinton, and Gerhard Schroder; articles on events such as the Rwandan Genocide and the war in Kosovo; and coverage of international trade developments such as NAFTA and the World Trade Organization.
- Oxford Companion to the Romantic Age
The Companion's two-part structure presents forty-two essays on major topics, by leading international experts, cross-referenced to an extensive alphabetical section covering all the principal figures, events, and movements in the broad culture of the period.
- Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States
The Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court is an accessible and authoritative guide, essential for judges, lawyers, academics, journalists, and anyone interested in the impact of the Supreme Court's decisions on American society.
- Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance
The Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance has 2,400 entries presented in a compact and portable format. It includes a timeline of historical and cultural events in the world of theater and performance, styles and movements, organizations, regions and traditions along with an extensive bibliography.
- Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Literature in English
This Companion examines English-language writers and writing throughout the twentieth century, in all major genres and from all around the world. All the great literary figures are included, whether American or Australian, British, Irish, or Indian, African or Canadian or Caribbean.
- Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Poetry in English
This is a comprehensive guide to modern poetry in English. 1,500 poets are covered from W.H. Auden to Benjamin Zephaniah. There is worldwide coverage, including America, Britain and Ireland, New Zealand, Trinidad and Zimbabwe. There are also entries on magazines, movements, and critical terms.
- Oxford Companion to United States History
The Oxford Companion to United States History contains over 1,400 entries written by some 900 historians and other scholars. It illuminates not only America's political, diplomatic, and military history, but also social, cultural, and intellectual trends; science, technology, and medicine; the arts; and religion.
- Oxford Companion to Western Art
Provides in-depth coverage of Western Art with entries on artists and their works, styles and movements, art forms and art terms, combined with more modern methodologies, focused on patronage, taste, theory, and criticism, and the scientific examination of materials and techniques.
- Oxford Companion to Women's Writing in the United States
This Companion provides a comprehensive survey of women writers across four centuries of American history. There are biographical entries on poets, novelists, and playwrights.
- Oxford Companion to World Exploration
Offers information on all topics of exploration worldwide, from Antarctica to the North Pole. Includes advances in navigation, the discovery of the New World, polar expeditions, and the space age. Examines the lives and expeditions of heroic and influential explorers, and covers navigational and marine sciences and ranges from ancient cultures through modern space exploration.
- Oxford Companion to World Mythology
This Companion includes essays on the world's major mythological traditions (Greek, Native American, Indian, Japanese, Sumerian, Egyptian), along with better-known myths, and entries on mythological types, motifs, and figures, and related subjects.
- Oxford Companion to World War II
Written by more than 140 specialist contributors from Italy, Germany, and Japan, as well as the Allied nations, the Companion provides unique world-wide coverage of the subject. Every aspect of the war is covered including, detailed surveys of major countries; politics and grand strategy; domestic and economic issues; resistance and intelligence services; campaigns, battles, and military operations; warfare and weapons; wartime leaders and influential people; and slogans and phrases.
- Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists
The Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists's 945 alphabetically-arranged entries offer an insightful and informative view of America’s artistic heritage. The dictionary also provides entries on notable American institutions, organizations, schools, techniques, styles, and movements, while examining important individuals connected to the art scene, such as the collector Peggy Guggenheim and the critic Clement Greenberg.
- Oxford Dictionary of American Quotations
With nearly 6,000 quotations, this volume offers a picture of American culture and life. The Dictionary covers more than five hundred topics, giving readers a nutshell history of what great (and not-so-great) Americans had to say about each one. This thoughtfully laid out compilation represents Americans ranging from the famous to the infamous, and from the distant as well as recent past, from George Abbott to Fran Lebowitz to Frank Zappa and numerous personalities, presidents, and analysts.
- Oxford Dictionary of American Usage and Style
In this book of crisp, precise and often witty pronouncements on modern American English, Bryan Garner decisively answers these and hundreds of other questions that bedevil those who care about the language. Garner draws on a host of evidence to support his judgements, citing thousands of examples - good, bad, and ugly - from sources such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and Newsweek.
- Oxford Dictionary of Art
The Oxford Dictionary of Art is a guide to the art of the Western world. It provides a both fact and critical appraisal, ranging across painting, sculpture, and the graphic arts from classical times to the present.
- Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists
The Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists contains over 2,500 clear and concise entries on styles and movements, materials and techniques, and museums and galleries. It also includes biographical entries for artists, critics, collectors, dealers, and patrons, with places and full dates of birth and death.
- Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Provides a comprehensive survey of modern biochemistry and molecular biology. Includes definitions of terms from the fields of Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Systems Biology, and Toxicology.
- Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium
Covers 1,100 years of Byzantine history. Includes entries on everything from patriarchy and emperors to entries on surgery, musical instruments, and the baking of bread. Brings to life this culture and empire, from the 4th century to the 15th.
- Oxford Dictionary of Dance
This dictionary is a single volume reference on all aspects of dance performance. The work covers all aspects of the diverse dance world from classical ballet to modern, from flamenco to hip-hop, from tap to South Asian dance forms and includes detailed entries on technical terms, steps, styles, works, and countries, in addition to many biographies of dancers, choreographers, and companies.
- Oxford Dictionary of English
The Oxford Dictionary of English includes thousands of words and senses, as well as encyclopedic information, and appendices covering topics such as countries, heads of state, and chemical elements.
- Oxford Dictionary of English Grammar
The Oxford Dictionary of English Grammar includes all the currently accepted terms of grammar, as well as older, traditional names, controversial new coinages, and items from the study of other languages. Concise definitions of the wider subject of linguistics, including phonetics and transformational grammar, are accompanied by examples of language in use, and frequent quotations from existing works on grammar.
- Oxford Dictionary of English Idioms
The Oxford Dictionary of English Idioms contains entries for over 6,000 idioms, including 700 entirely new entries, based on Oxford's language monitoring and the ongoing third edition of the Oxford English Dictionary
- Oxford Dictionary of Islam
The Dictionary focuses primarily on the 19th and 20th centuries, providing a highly informative look at the religious, political, and social spheres of the modern Islamic world. There are entries on topics of current interest such as terrorism and the Taliban, Osama bin Laden and al-Qaida, the PLO and HAMAS, but the coverage also includes biographical profiles, and entries covering major political movements, militant groups, religious sects terms from Islamic law, culture and religion, key historical events, and important landmarks.
- Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms
The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms provides clear, concise, and often witty definitions of the most troublesome literary terms from abjection to zeugma.
- Oxford Dictionary of Local and Family History
This dictionary provides both amateur and professional historians with quick answers to questions of terminology that may arise in the course of research. It contains, for example, entries on legal and other specialist terms; types of documentation; sources of information; social and religious groups; institutions and organizations; historical and political events; official functions and occupations; and authors and scholars.
- Oxford Dictionary of Modern Quotations
Containing over 5,000 quotations from authors as diverse as Elizabeth Arden, Billy Connolly, Bertolt Brecht, Linda Evangelista, Eddie Izzard, Alison Lurie, Carl Sagan, William Shatner, and Desmond Tutu, the dictionary is author-organized with generous cross-referencing. Special categories for film taglines and cartoon captions have been added to accompany misquotations, official advice, newspaper headlines, and many more.
- Oxford Dictionary of Modern Slang
This dictionary of slang from the 20th and 21st centuries draws on the resources of the Oxford English Dictionary and offers coverage of over 6,000 slang words and expressions from the Cockney ‘abaht’ to the American term ‘zowie’, .
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
An illustrated collection of more than 57,000 specially written biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past. Updated three times a year (each January, May and October), adding new biographies from the Romans to the 21st century.
- Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
This best-selling dictionary covers all areas of philosophy and contains terms from the related fields of religion, science, and logic.
- Oxford Dictionary of Phrase and Fable
This dictionary draws on Oxford's bank of reference and language resources in order to explore the stories behind names and sayings that can be found in classic literature or today's news.
- Oxford Dictionary of Plays
The Oxford Dictionary of Plays provides essential information on the 1,000 best-known, best-loved, and most important plays in world theatre. Each entry includes details of the title, author, date of writing, date of first performance, genre, setting, and composition of cast; there is also a summary of the play's plot, and a brief commentary.
- Oxford Dictionary of Political Quotations
The Oxford Dictionary of Political Quotations brings together both words of wisdom and things that might have been better left unsaid.
- Oxford Dictionary of Popes
Provides concise accounts of every officially recognized pope in history, from St Peter to Pope Benedict XVI, as well as all of their irregularly elected rivals, the so-called antipopes. Each pope and antipope's entry covers his family and social background and pre-papal career as well as his activities in office. Also, an appendix provides a detailed discussion and analysis of the tradition that there has been a female pope.
- Oxford Dictionary of Proverbs
This dictionary contains over 1,100 of the most widely used proverbs in English and uses research from the Oxford English Corpus, the world's largest language databank.
- Oxford Dictionary of Quotations
The Oxford Dictionary of Quotations brings you the wit and wisdom of past and present – from the ancients of East and West to the global village of the 21st century. Find that half-remembered line in a browser's paradise of over 20,000 quotations for all occasions, comprehensively indexed for ready reference.
- Oxford Dictionary of Reference and Allusion
This dictionary explains the meanings of allusions in modern English.
- Oxford Dictionary of Rhymes
The Oxford Dictionary of Rhymes contains rhymes for 45,000 words, including proper names, place names, and foreign terms used in English.
- Oxford Dictionary of Saints
First published in 1978, the Oxford Dictionary of Saints offers more than 1,700 fascinating and informative entries covering the lives, cults, and artistic associations of saints from around the world, from the famous to the obscure, the rich to the poor, and the academic to the uneducated.
- Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction
The Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction shows the development of science-fiction words and their associated concepts over time, with full citations and bibliographic information.
- Oxford Dictionary of Scientific Quotations
The original words announcing great scientific discoveries, from the first ‘Eureka! ’ to the cloning of Dolly the sheep, can all be found in this dictionary.
- Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science & Medicine
This dictionary covers all the major areas of sports science and medicine including: anatomy, biomechanics, exercise physiology, nutrition, sports psychology, sports sociology, sports injuries, and training principles. It was compiled with the help of a team of eminent contributors and advisers; the third edition has been updated to incorporate recent advances, for example in the areas of gene technology and drug and doping regulations.
- Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
Includes information on all aspects of the Christian Church. Contains over 6,000 A-Z entries, and offers coverage of all aspects of this vast and often complex subject, from theology; churches and denominations; patristic scholarship; and the bible; to the church calendar and its organization; popes; archbishops; saints; and mystics.
- Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World
Covers key aspects of ancient Greek and Roman life and literature, such as science, social structure, philosophy, and religion, and contains comprehensive articles on central figures, both real and mythological, from Achilles to Zeno.
- Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion
In 2,400 entries, The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion covers more than three millennia of Jewish religious thought, custom, law, and practice, from traditional approaches to Reform, Conservative, Reconstructionist and post-denominational Judaism.
- Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages covers European history, society, and culture from 500 to 1500 A.D., as well as the Byzantine Empire, Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples of the era. The Dictionary provides coverage of both the whole geographical extent of the European Middle Ages, and topics, from art and architecture, medicine, and law, to archaeology, ecclesiastical history, and languages and literature.
- Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
Provides details on all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe. Includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period. Explores the influence that this intense intellectual and cultural revival continues to have on modern thought and society. Nearly half the entries are biographical, covering artists, thinkers, statesman, and reformers.
- Oxford Dictionary of Word Origins
The Oxford Dictionary of Word Origins describes the origins and development of over 3,000 words and phrases in the English language.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought
Offers a comprehensive view of African thought, covering the intellectual tradition on the continent and throughout the diaspora. Major trends in African philosophy, political theory, and religion are covered, as well as significant historical figures and social movements.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of American Business,Labor and Economic History
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Business, Labor, and Economic History offers students and scholars access to information about the concepts, institutions and organizations, events, and individuals that have shaped the history of business, labor, and economics from the origins of what later became the United States in an earlier age of globalization and the expansion of capitalism to the present.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History
This resource offers a record of the nation’s values, aspirations, anxieties, and beliefs as expressed in both everyday life and formal bodies of thought. Over the past twenty years, the field of cultural history has moved to the center of American historical studies, and has come to encompass the experiences of ordinary citizens in such arenas as reading and religious practice as well as the accomplishments of prominent artists and writers.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature
Surveys American literature from the 1600s to the present day. Includes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, as well as major works and essays on literary movements, periods, and themes. Offers historical perspective and social context along with a range of possibilities with regard to critical approach.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of American Military and Diplomatic History
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Military and Diplomatic History offers both assessment and analysis of the key episodes, issues and actors in the military and diplomatic history of the United States.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of American Political and Legal History
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Political and Legal History provides comprehensive coverage of political and legal history in the United States, covering the key events, historical actors, presidential elections, court cases, and larger political and legal trends throughout American history.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History
The more than 450 entries in this work examine our shared history "from the bottom up," with entries on the way automobiles shaped American lives, the westward movement of settlers and farmers in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, the transformation of work over time, the women's suffrage movement, counterculture, leisure activities, consumption patterns, voting habits, population movements, racial divides, and many more fascinating topics intended to help readers develop a richer framework for understanding the social experience of Americans throughout history.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
Addresses the social, political, religious, cultural and artistic legacy of this 5,000-year civilization. Covers the predynastic era to its eclipse in the seventh century CE. Provides information on art, architecture, religion, language, literature, trade, politics, everyday social life and the culture of the court.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
Offers an overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. Also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries. Includes nearly eleven hundred articles, conveying the significance of the people, places, and historical events of classical antiquity, together with its intellectual and material culture.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature
Provides comprehensive coverage of literature from the Abbey Theatre to Israel Zangwill, covering the entire history of literature in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland in the major literary languages (Anglo-Saxon, English, Welsh, Scots, Irish, and Latin). Includes accounts of individual authors and histories of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions, whose impact upon the writing or the reading of literature was significant.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
Documents and interprets the books read by children throughout the world. Pays attention to significant international trends and the multicultural expansion of the field. Includes brief Biography of every major author and illustrator. Also included are feature essays on all genres of children's literature, individual works, and prominent trends and themes, as well as general essays on the traditions of children's literature in many countries throughout the world.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
International in scope and spanning all time periods of human history. Articles cover inventors, theoreticians, and industry leaders, as well as markets, industries, and labor. Topics range from accounting and advertising to zoning and zoos.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America
Covers the significant events, inventions, and social movements in American history that have affected the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink. Addresses regions, people, ingredients, companies, advertising, historical eras, holidays and festivals, and political, scientific, and economic currents pertinent to American cuisine.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America 2nd ed.
Covers the significant events, inventions, and social movements that have shaped the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink. Entries range across historical periods and the trends that characterize them, from the extravagant feasts of the Gilded Age to the diet fads of the nineties.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in American 2nd ed.
Entries range across historical periods and the trends that characterize them, from the extravagant feasts of the Gilded Age to the diet fads of the nineties.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
Offers information about the fastest growing minority population in the United States. Brings together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Address topics such as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Maritime History
Covers the history of seafaring, from ancient Egyptian shipbuilders to the nuclear submarines and supertankers of today. Examine all aspects of maritime history, including naval history, shipbuilding, Biography of major figures, navigation and scientific instrumentation, maritime art and literature, commerce and economics, and international law. Shows how seafaring has both reflected and influenced the major economic, cultural, military, and political developments in world history.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare and Military Technology
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare and Military Technology examines all aspects of warfare and military technology in medieval times.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures
Chronicles Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America. Encompasses the great civilizations of the pre-Columbian era (including the Olmec, Aztec, and Maya peoples) up through the colonial and postcolonial periods. Covers art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, history, and historiography of the region.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of South Asian Christianity
Covers the 2000-year old story of Christianity in India and its neighbouring countries. Looks at Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal, Bhutan, and Maldives, alongside India, as well as Myanmar, Afghanistan, and the global South Asian diaspora.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World
Provides information about major world developments from 1750 to the present, with close attention to social, economic, cultural, and political topics. Contains articles on world events; countries; organizations; regions; ethnic groups; and themes such as social history, demography, family life, politics, economics, religion, thought, education, science and technology, and culture.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
Includes information about the entire range of religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century, encompassing not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature. Allows for a comprehensive social and intellectual history of early modern Europe.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance
Provides authoritative and up-to-date information about theatre and performance from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe. Covers dance, opera, radio, film, television, and popular performance, including carnivals, circus, and public executions. Includes entries on cities and regions place performance in its local social and political context.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
The Oxford Encyclopedias of Women in World History covers the role women have played throughout world history. Includes over 650 Biography of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies.
- Oxford English Dictionary
The definitive dictionary of the English Language, including comprehensive etymologies, first date of usage noted by excerpt from attributed author. Incomparable. The most comprehensive dictionary of any language.
- Oxford Essential Dictionary of Foreign Terms in English
This reference includes detailed information on the spelling, history, and usage of thousands of foreign words and phrases used by English speakers. There are words from more than forty languages, including Arabic, Chinese, Dutch, Latin, Portuguese, Spanish, and Yiddish. Terms from cooking, fashion, and music jostle with others from fine arts, history, law, politics, business, and travel in this great reference to words from around the globe.
- Oxford Essential Dictionary of the U.S. Military
This comprehensive reference to U.S. military terms, people, and battles covers military history from the earliest colonial conflicts to the present.
- Oxford Essential Quotations
Contains over 12,000 quotations and from more than 3,000 authors, in more than 600 subject areas.
- Oxford Guide to Literary Britain and Ireland
This reference work is a gazetteer of almost 2,000 places - villages, towns, cities, and landscapes - in Britain and Ireland detailing their connections with the lives of famous writers.
- Oxford Guide to People and Places of the Bible
This essential guide offers 325 articles that describe the people and places that appear in the New Testament and Old Testament of the Bible. From prophets, apostles, and groups (such as Hebrews and Angels) to kingdoms and countries, cities and mountains where Biblical events took place.
- Oxford Guide to the United States Government
In addition to coverage of the 2000 Presidential race and election, it features biographies of all the Presidents, Vice Presidents, and Supreme Court Justices, as well as notable members of Congress, including current leadership; historical commentary on past elections, major Presidential decisions, international and domestic programs, and the key advisors and agencies of the executive branch; in-depth analysis of Congressional leadership and committees, agencies and staff, and historic legislation; and detailed discussions of 100 landmark Supreme Court cases and the major issues facing the Court today.
- Oxford Guide to the United States Supreme Court Decisions
This Guide contains more than 450 entries on major Supreme Court cases, including 53 new entries on the latest landmark rulings.
- Oxford History of Western Music
The online version of the Oxford History of Western Music, originally printed in five thick volumes, chronicles the evolution of Western classical music. Written by prominent musicologist Richard Taruskin, the online version includes all 1.25 million words, 500 images, and 1,800 musical examples from the updated paperback edition.
- Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History
Provides both historical and contemporary comparisons of the world legal systems. Covers legal history from ancient to modern times. Approximately 1,000 articles explore the traditions of Ancient Greek Law, Ancient Roman Law, Medieval Roman Law, Chinese Law, English Common Law, Islamic Law, United States Law, and the laws of such other regions as Africa, Latin America, and South Asia. Major categories of law include private law (contract, tort, civil procedure), public law (statutory, criminal,
- Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace
Charts the interdisciplinary field of Peace Studies, offering a survey of the range of historical, political, theoretical and philosophical issues relating to peace and conflict. Major figures are covered, as well as major events, organizations, theories, and much more. In addition to A-to-Z entries, the Encyclopedia also includes a peace chronology, key documents and appendices.
- Oxford Islamic Studies
Brings together current scholarship in the field of Islamic Studies. Oxford Islamic Studies Online features reference content and commentary by scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture. Encompasses over 3,500 A-Z reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines.
- Oxford Music Online
This is the standard Encyclopedias for music and is the electronic version of a 30 volume print set that is housed in the Music Library. The Encyclopedias covers classical and popular music, world music, women in music, musical instruments, important geographical centers, and articles from the perspective of the new musicology. Access is limited to three users at a time from campus computers only.
- Oxford Paperback Thesaurus
This thesaurus covers nearly one-third of a million alternative and opposite words. The most useful alternative word is given first, with words closest in meaning to the entry word given in capitals. Opposites and related terms are clearly marked.
- Oxford Reader's Companion to Conrad
Over 400 entries cover Conrad's life, people, places, novels, stories, essays, and reviews, influences and sources, characters,reputation, and historical context.
- Oxford Reader's Companion to Dickens
The Oxford Reader’s Companion to Dickens draws together an unparalleled diversity of information on one of our greatest writers: his life, his works, his reputation, and his cultural context.
- Oxford Reader's Companion to George Eliot
This resource offers the latest thinking and expertise on George Eliot, providing a rich diversity of information and critical insight into her fiction and its contexts.
- Oxford Reader's Companion to Hardy
A team of expert contributors, presents a unique synthesis of understanding and insight into the life and works of Thomas Hardy.
- Oxford Reader's Companion to Trollope
Over 500 A-Z entries cover Trollope's literature; his work as biographer, journalist and travel writer; subsequent criticism and praise of his work; his family members, friends, and acquaintances; the social context of his life; his influences and the things he influenced; his interests and ideas.
- Oxford Reference Online
Indexes the fulltext of over 100 Oxford subject Encyclopedias and dictionaries.