LibGuides: *Anthropology: Background Information

Databases

Credo Reference
Provides access to more than 1300 titles, covering every major subject - from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature.
OneFile, Gale Academic
Oxford African American Studies Center
A comprehensive collection of scholarship focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Includes 7,500 articles. The core content includes Africana, which presents an account of the African and African American experience in five volumes.
Also includes content from the new Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present, the three-volume Black Women in America, Second Edition, and the African American National Biography.
Sage Reference Online
Online versions of reference titles from Sage Publications.
African American Communities
From communal struggle to creative outpourings: uncover the everyday lives of African Americans spanning two turbulent centuries.

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
Addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level. Examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; and of social institutions and the structures of representation. Topics include changing conceptions of "the feminine," the family and masculinity, religion, morality, cultural images, medical practice, public health, economy and society and more. Also discusses the influences of gender studies on various academic disciplines
more...less...
4 volumes in print